My Trip to Goa: Day 4

This is last post in my Goa Trip series. I am posting this after a long gap of posting Day 3 experiences at Goa.

So back to Day 3 in Goa, we spent day exploring beaches on our Kinetic. Before evening, we realized that we hadn’t yet booked ourselves a return ticket to Mumbai. Trains were all booked. We were to spend the next day in Mumbai before catching the night flight to Delhi. We certainly could not miss spending one day with friends and family in Mumbai.

So we set out to Paulo travels office in Panjim on our Kinetics. Panjim is about 35 kms from Candolim Island. We had no clue about the roads. We asked around and used the ferry on Mandovi river to cross it. As soon as I landed in Panjim, my eyes fell on the movie theater in front. It was then playing Khoya Khoya Chand, a movie I had not watched and wanted to watch. My first instinct was, let’s watch this movie here. Of course, my friends berated me. You have come all the way to Goa just to watch a movie that you can watch in Delhi? I had no choice but to agree with them. 😦

View of a Panjim church at night. We just passed by them.

We asked around and rushed to Kadamba bus stand. To our dismay, there were no tickets available for Mumbai at either Raj travels or Paulo travels. We asked around and finally managed to book ourselves a Volvo for next day to Goregaon in Mumbai. Our main purpose fulfilled, we decided to buy goodies from Panjim for our families.

We went to a shop to buy cashew, feni and chocolates. There were varieties of cashew available: salted, spiced, peppered, plain and few more I don’t remember. We bought a traditional Goan dessert called Bebinca. This was perhaps the only Goan cuisine that we could take as it was available in vegetarian form, without eggs. In Goa, you can find every available world cuisine for tourists: German, Cantonese, Italian (we had trouble finding pasta though), American, British (scrambled eggs and bacon was a common offering). Sea food is famous. But we were all vegetarians in our group. Sometimes it was bit difficult to find good vegetarian food. We can’t say we would not find it, we did but it was expensive. And it was not always what we wanted. Our food preference seemed to be second in comparison to meeting food needs of the foreigners.

Back to the goodies, we were buying I wanted to buy liquor chocolates. There are some really good ones available there. But my friends dissuaded me, eventually the shopkeeper intervened to tell me, “Madam, your friend are right. These are actually very bitter. Most people don’t like them.” I then bought other chocolates instead. So much for liquor chocolates being Kajol’s favorite in U, Me and Hum.

After buying our goodies, we decided to take a tour of Mandovi river on the cruise ship. It was 31st night, most of the tourists and Goans had flocked together to take cruise ride. There were two cruise ships available, both were well illuminated and decorated with colourful light bulbs. During the ride, ship’s troupe performed traditional Goan dances. We were pleasantly surprised to see Goans of all age groups dancing, without any inhibitions, to the tunes playing on the ship. All in all it was a nice ride.

New year hour was approaching in few hours. We had been out of hotel since morning and had not had the opportunity to change our sweaty, sandy clothes at all. I did not want to enter the new year without putting on the best dress in a beach party. We rushed back to our hotels to change and join a new year party at our home beach, Candolim beach. Our this wish got us bit too late to watch the amazing fire works at the beach. All the beaches, as we had noticed in the morning, had accumulated huge amount of fireworks especially for the new year eve. We could only watch remnants of the fireworks at the beach. 😦

Nevertheless, we reached the beach dressed in our best clothes. There were parties going all round. But we realized with worry and dismay that all the beach shacks had run out of food after 12, all they had was drinks. Can you guess, who came to our rescue? Good old Dominos! (Dominos probably open there all night in this season and deliveries were also on at nights.) We gorged on Domino’s pizzas at night in relief. Imagine having new year dinner at Dominos in Goa!

We decided to be beach bum for next entire day on 1st January. We had our Volvo ride to Mumbai at 8 in the evening. Dressed in our beach gear, we spent entire day eating Chinese and drinking wines at the beach. We raced on the beach, dipped in water, walked in sand and lazed on the beach deck till the sun set.

A couple hand-in-hand at Candolim beach

It was easy to spot couples hand-in-hand at the beach.

I never could go very very deep in water.

My only regret: I could not go too deep into water as I did not know how to swim. I watched foreigner kids with envy as they went deeper into water. Nevertheless, I made best of beach. I collected sea shells at the beach, like I used to when I was at school. I danced, walked and ran in water. I lazed in sand, under shaded canopy and gorged good food and drinks.

It was heaven being a beach bum. πŸ™‚

Read all previous day posts here:

My Trip to Goa: Day 1
My Trip to Goa: Day 2
My Trip to Goa: Day 3

40 Responses to “My Trip to Goa: Day 4”


  1. 1 Shefaly May 8, 2008 at 11:37 am

    Being a beach bum is always fun but the trek back, say in a car – esp if you remove the shoes and collect sand in between toes and on your feet – can be a challenge. I think irresp of the time of day, the sea and its surroundings afford great photo-opportunities.

    Your post reminds, almost nudges, me to finish and put up the post about my Christmas holiday which too involved a beach punctuating mornings and evenings, and also a lot of walking, but it was December and even the Mediterranean can be cool-ish then. :-/

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. 2 Anshul May 8, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    I almost forgot, that one of the last episode is still remaining.

    & You did not know how to swim 😯 Holy cow….., so what did you do there ? Ran in slow motion across the beach…. ? πŸ˜‰

    and Liquor chocolates are good, also depending on what liquor do they have in them, I think they mostly have rum and they are not bitter, not that bitter πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Anshul May 8, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Hey, whats the time zone setting on your blog. I don’t think its GMT+ 5.30.

  4. 4 Nita May 8, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    so you finally finished the seres! πŸ™‚
    As personalised as your previous goa posts and that’s what makes your posts interesting! I know what you mean about the movie bit. I get movie pangs like that too but try to control them!
    And Poonam, it’s not too late to learn how to swim!

  5. 5 dinu May 8, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    you and Nita make me feel like arranging a trip asap….. u r posting a lot about Goa these days… I think Neela too did it.. hmmm

  6. 6 lallopallo May 8, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    I think you should write one more post on your Goa trip.

  7. 7 Poonam Sharma May 9, 2008 at 4:15 am

    @Shefaly: I know that sandy feeling you explained. I remember the day I returned from beach tour of Goa. First thing that I did after entering room was to take a bath. No hello or Hi, straight dash to the bathroom.

    I guess Shefaly you should finish your post. I would love to read your travels. Mediterranean sounds interesting to me. πŸ™‚

    @Anshul: Ran in slow motion across beach, lay down in sand to give model-like poses on beach πŸ˜› I was keen on liquor chocolates, when shopkeeper himseld dissuaded me. I left them.

    Where do I check my time setting?

    @Nita: Yes, but I am yet to write about that one day in Mumbai, I will link your aerial pictures there. They are unique. πŸ™‚

    yes, as soon as I buy the house, I will have weekends free to take swimming classes. I am quite keen to do that. It is on my life’s to-do list. πŸ™‚

    @Dinu: yes, you should go there in October. Who is Neela?

    @lallopallo: I am curious. Kyun?

  8. 8 praneshachar May 9, 2008 at 6:29 am

    better late than never great you have given a touching part day 4 so all was cool in new year eve wonderful lot of things are said ill about bad new year even on goan beaches happy you did’t encounter anhy problems happ about that.
    next will be goa to bombay? return trip of Bombay to goa of bachhan

  9. 9 Anshul May 9, 2008 at 6:56 am

    Dashboard>Settings>General>…Time Zone

  10. 10 Nikhil May 9, 2008 at 8:52 am

    Lovely!! I’m going next month to Gokarna!! I’m gonna stop by Goa on my way back!! I was actually wavering whether to go or not! Now, I’ve made up my mind!! Thanks! πŸ˜€

  11. 11 vimal May 9, 2008 at 11:02 am

    u had dominos on new year??? ewwwwww !!!!
    Btw, why this long gap between the different parts??

  12. 12 Poonam May 9, 2008 at 11:08 am

    @praneshachar: yeah, better late than never. πŸ™‚ I had no trouble at the beach. Yes, next will be Goa to Mumbai.

    @Anshul: Thanks! I will look at it. πŸ™‚

    @Nikhil: well, will then read about your trip account. Get loads of pictures. πŸ™‚

    @Vimal: yes, what could I do? There was no food at beaches on new year night! Little time on hands and I am lazy on weekends. So I write when I have time. Can you believe I finished writing about new year trip in May. πŸ™‚

  13. 13 Nova May 9, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Wow! The church looks ethereal… I have stayed in Goa for a brief time. I love the place…

  14. 14 shuz May 10, 2008 at 4:30 am

    hey:)
    how is u?
    so i guess im reading ur new year’s day spl blog:) i can only magine wt a celebration it must have been:) Goa, the place in India tht does NY the way it shud be. but unfortunately for me, i rem goin to god when i was in 8th ya 9th grade. apart from the beach nothing really interested us kids:)) damn, so much for ppl sayin ‘think ahead’….. but its cool:)

    i rem two churches, and a small hidden temple where we lit cigars!! tht i wont forget:)
    but looks like u guys had so much fun!! next u u go there, just go to any movie n pick any chocolate u want…. and wear a tube n enter deep:)

    see ya around:)

  15. 15 Liju Philip May 11, 2008 at 11:40 am

    aap to full2 installments mein likh rahe ho πŸ˜‰ Btw, liquor chocolates are not so bitter. You feel a tinge of the liquor when you bite into the chocolate. But its nice for a change. Anyway, dark chocolates are also bitter. Some of them can really make you spit them out. But, bitter chocolate is good for your heart.

    Btw, Bacon and scrambled eggs for breakfast is yummy. Slurp slurp πŸ˜‰ Also i have had burgers for breakfast so many times that i have lost count. Now beat that πŸ˜€

  16. 16 ish May 11, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    Wow, celebrating new years at Dominos in Goa is the coolest thing I’ve ever heard! And there’s one thing that I feel, when you’re with friends and the people with whom you have fun, the place doesn’t really matter all that match.

  17. 17 Amit May 11, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    Oooo…what fun. Great way to celebrate the new year. I am dying to visit Goa…hope that I get the chance soon. πŸ™‚
    And Liquor chocolates are not that bitter. There is only a little tinge.

  18. 18 Poonam Sharma May 12, 2008 at 5:48 am

    @Nova: You have stayed in Goa. When? While you were studying? The church pic has not been taken by me, I was looking for a night picture and put it here. This is close to what you see.

    @shuz: Hey! good to see you back! where have you been? Naughty girl, you lit cigar in temples..I don’t regret not having liquor chocolates, I had great Swiss chocolates instead. But yes, next time seriously contemplating watching a movie on trip instead of rushing for sight-seeing.

    @Liju: Those were rum chocolates. Heard they dont taste so good. I don’t mind bitter dark chocolates though. πŸ™‚ Well, you might not have to have burgers now, your wife would cook yummy meals for you. At least initially πŸ˜›

    @ish: True, where you have dinner doesn’t matter when you are with friends. Glad, you understand. πŸ™‚

    @Amit: Sure you would have a chance to be in Goa soon. Why don’t you try for next roadies if you like travel and adventure so much?

    So many people have now suggested going for liquor chocolates that I am regretting. πŸ˜‰

  19. 19 ish May 12, 2008 at 7:00 am

    Yea, I understand. It’s happened with me so many times. I’ve gone on school trips without my close friends and despite so many people being there, it wasn’t fun. And then I spent the new year with my closest friends at one friend’s house eating the most ordinary food and watching a movie I totally hated but still, I had a ball.

    Btw, I only noticed your url carefully today. Alchemist Poonam. Alchemist! Brilliant hai!

    @Amit: Yea, you should try for Roadies! It’ll be fun to see Raghu grilling you and then you eating all those cockroaches and jhinga’s and stuff. But be careful of the Shambhavi types. Ya fir kya pata, tumhaare ko bhi koi Geet mil jaye, jaise Ashu ko Sonel mil gayi. πŸ˜›

  20. 20 Shefaly May 12, 2008 at 8:13 am

    @ Poonam:

    “So many people have now suggested going for liquor chocolates that I am regretting”

    I would say, don’t.

    Having eaten ghaat-ghaat ki chocolate, including a Lindt-bar-a-day when I lived in Switzerland, I am of the view that chocolate that contains fruit, nuts or liquor is a contamination and a waste of good chocolate. This list includes chocolate fondue. When I received liquor chocolates for Christmas – the lazy friend’s choice – I give the box away as is, to some domestic staff or the postman. :-/

    So I think it was good that you did not waste money on liquor chocolates.

    I recently told a friend who is moving to London for a 2-year expat role in Cadbury’s that I do not eat mass-produced chocolate and he says he will convert me. Hah! We shall see. πŸ™‚

  21. 21 Poonam Sharma May 12, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    @ish: yea…I am supposed to turn everything to glod. I can’t believe taht you noticed it now. πŸ™‚

    It wud be fun to see some Shambhavi sorts chase Amit. πŸ™‚

    @Shefaly: I like Lindt chocolates a lot. Yet it has neevr come to a chocolate a day. I invariable finish everything in a day or two and then forget to replinish my stock for a long while until craving starts again. πŸ™‚

    So I am a convert again (on liquor chocolates) πŸ˜›

    Let me know you have any nice Cadbury’s to recommend, who knows you get taste new inventions straight from Willy Wonka’s factory. πŸ™‚

  22. 22 Shefaly May 12, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    @ Poonam: I ate a BAR a day not a small chocolate a day πŸ™‚

    I do not stock chocolate; but I have eaten much chocolate wherever I go.

    On a related note, I tagged you for a foodie meme. Curious to hear. Thanks.

  23. 23 vimal May 12, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    btw, any idea who that jackie shroff and urmila were in that beach picture??..and what was the guy in the other picture doing?..drowning????

  24. 24 Harsha May 13, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Spending an entire day in a beach is so such an wonderful experience.. I am sure you have enjoyed a lot over there..

  25. 25 Amit May 13, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Rodies?? I haven’t even seen the programme. Wait…I saw it once. They were all fighting in a room calling each other names and then there was some vote out. Very original. πŸ˜€
    //eating all those cockroaches —> I will kill myself before I do that. 😐
    And I certainly won’t find my Geet there. The girls on the show were quite “ladaku” and dumb. Geet to bahut intellegent hai, πŸ˜‰

  26. 26 Poonam Sharma May 13, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    @Shefaly: I am not surprised about eating a bar a day. I do that only till my chocolates in fridge lasted. I do have a disgust feeling for chocolate for a short period when I have overeaten them for days. But craving returns after a period. I am not sure what I will do with food meme. I am curious too. πŸ™‚

    @Vimal: Well, I can’t say I know Jackie and Urmila on beach. But the one in water was a colleague from our group, who loved diving and wading deep in water. He did better than us. (envy)

    I noticed these days you too blog with less frequency. Whats up?

    @Harsha: yes, it was HEAVEN. I will do it again.

    @Amit: ahan..well, roadies is more than that bickering..but its fun. πŸ™‚ Btw, I don;t Geet…except the one from Jab We Met? But I would love to see your audition with Raghu. πŸ™‚

  27. 27 ish May 13, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Interview b/w Raghu and Amit:-

    Raghu- Haan to..Amit? Apne baare mein kuch batao.

    Amit- Mera naam Amit hai, main bahut talented hoon. Mereko Geet bahut pasand hai aur main kuch karna chahta hoon.

    Raghu- Kya karna chahte ho?

    Amit- Pata nahi, bas main toh kuch karke rahunga.

    Raghu- **&@#$@?#^#$@

    πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  28. 28 aniche May 14, 2008 at 1:41 am

    did u meet any da costas or d’souzas? they are a dime a dozen out there in goa πŸ˜€

  29. 29 vimal May 14, 2008 at 4:43 am

    ya true. These days Im getting held up with a lot of work at office which infact is a very bad sign πŸ™‚ and also my new blog is in the final post production stage (ahem! ahem!, guess, im reading a lot of movie related stuffs on the net to be speaking this way).

  30. 30 ManofRoma May 14, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    A very good series indeed! I wanted to comment before but I didn’t for lack of time. As you know I have been to Goa many years ago, and your writings were entertaining and helped me remember things a lot. I remember that Panjim church, altho I saw it by day. So, you have relatives in Mumbai too, even if you are from Delhi. And you like beach bumming. I did that too a lot . Great. And that Goa beach is really heaven, I cannot forget it. So huge and romantic, lovely sunset. Swimming is not such a big deal. You can learn with a few lessons. Only, tropical seas are dangerous because of strong currents that take you away forever. I mean, if one learns how to swim very well, temptations to go far into deep sea is too strong. So do not be too sorry about it lol.

  31. 31 Amit May 14, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    If I ever get a chance to get interviewed by Raghu, I will make him cry.
    Raghu : Amit, apne baare main kuch batao.
    Amit : Mera naam Amit hai. And please be specific about what you want to ask. I don’t want to blabber anything which is irrelevant to this talk and waste your and my time.
    Raghu : Err…Why do you want to be in Roadies?
    Amit : So that I can bitch and find a girlfriend. And yes, I don’t know how to drive a bike.
    Raghu : 😯 *faints and falls on the ground with a thud*

  32. 32 ish May 15, 2008 at 1:31 am

    @Amit: Haha, abhi tumhe Raghu ka idea nahi hai. Woh bande ka roz ka kaam hai yaar doosron ki lena. Don’t underestimate him. Bike chalaani nahi aati pe hi pakad lega. Fir laga rahega.

  33. 33 Ashish May 15, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    Your Goa series has brought back fond memories of the place. Its as if we are in a different country than India…

    Btw, did you see the Basilica of Bom Jesus in Old Goa? That is really one of the highlights of the state. πŸ™‚

  34. 34 Poonam Sharma May 16, 2008 at 9:40 am

    @aniche:Nah, didn’t get much chance to interact with locals. We watched them at distance or as vendors providing us services.

    @Vimal: I understand how it is when you are working full-time and blogging suffers because it is not our bread and butter. LEt me know a good resource on web about film-making and stuff.

    @manofroma: I understand about not commenting due to lack of time. Sometimes I too can’t reply comments promptly due to lack of time. I like beach bumming a lot. yes, swimming is on my life’s to-do list. I will join classes as soon as I finish my current commitments.

    @Amit: That will be a day when you can make Raghu cry. So far I have seen him only making others cry. πŸ™‚ If you give him that kind of answers, he will retort back with volley of abuses and say you can’t drive bikes and you dare to come here at Roadies!

    @ish: Amit ko kuch Raghu ke samples dikhane padenge. πŸ™‚

    @Ashish: TO be honest, I did not visit churches at night as didn’t have time. I just passesd by them. Next time, will visit them separately.

  35. 35 Amit May 16, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    I have made many Raghus cry. 100 of such Raghus play gilli danda in by backyard. hehehe. Seriously, I find the guy quite irritating. And when Amit finds someone irritating, then God save him. πŸ˜† (I am sounding like Rakhi Sawant 😐 )

  36. 36 Poonam Sharma May 21, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    I find Rakhi Sawant a pure entertainer, you might as well sound like her. πŸ˜›

  37. 37 Blen May 24, 2008 at 11:30 am

    Hi..

    I am a Goan and I am in love with Goa. Having lived a couple of years outside Goa I’ve had a lot of people bombarding me with questions about Goa. That’s what prompted me to start off with a website on Goa. And also coz I love writing this website is one thing I sure am looking forward to…

    I just read your review about Goa and I will be honoured if you could add a review on my site too. Registration is very simple and am sure you will have fun. So, please log in to http://www.reviewgoa.com and leave a review.

    I’m sorry I did not get your name. Do let me know it..

    Hope to hear from you soon….

    Regards,

    Blenure

    Site Admin
    http://www.reviewgoa.com

  38. 38 Poonam Sharma May 26, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    @Blen: My name is Poonam. I will register at your web site as soon as I can. Thanks for dropping by! πŸ™‚

  39. 39 nikjam August 17, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    Hi Poonam,

    Nice blog you have and beautiful posts. I just dropped by to tell you that Bebinca (the goan speciality you mentioned in the post) does contain eggs! It’s actually Dodol (another goan speciality) that does not contain eggs…

    Cheers and Regards,
    Nikhil T. J.

    Poonam: Nikhil, I know Bebinca has eggs. But some brand, I don’t remember which, sell eggless, packaged Bebinca. At least that was what written on the package and what shopkeeper told us. But you can never be sure, it could be dodol? Does change in one ingredient (egg) make it dodol? I will check its ingredients from web to verify what I bought. πŸ™‚ Thanks for coming by, keep visiting! I am glad you liked my blog.


  1. 1 A Trip to Europe: Part 1 « Visceral Observations Trackback on July 15, 2008 at 5:24 pm

Leave a comment




Subscribe to Visceral Observations

     
Add to Technorati Favorites

Thank you, Chirag!

This header has been created by Chirag.

A Torch Against Terrorists

     

I also write at:

Blog Archives

Read by Category

World AIDS Day 2008

Support World AIDS Day
The Hunger Site
Creative Commons License
Visceral Observations is written by Poonam Sharma. It is licensed to her under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License
Directory of General Blogs
May 2008
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031