My Trip to Goa: Day 2

Day 2: We hired a bike in the morning for rest of our trip. Actually it was Kinetic, for 600 bucks a day! With a map in hand, we set out to Calangute beach, king of all beaches in Goa. We were all charged up for water sports. And the sight of parachutes flying in the sky over beaches was a huge temptation. Folks were parasailing! πŸ™‚

Parasailing1

Without wasting any time, we bargained (a must at this time of year!) and went for parasailing. There were seven of us on a speedboat that sailed in water for parasailing. Four of us were two couples from a separate group. Both the girls in the group were petrified at the prospect of parasailing. They made lot of noise about their fear. To tell you truth, I was petrified too inside. I had been asking my friend since morning, “Would I be able to parasail?” He would patiently answer, “Why wouldn’t you be able to?”

The men manning the speedboat tried to show us a demo of para sailing that failed due to huge gust of wind. Everyone started making noise that this was a demoralizing demo. Girls (excluding me) were more hyper. However, after a very small brief, one-by-one each of us was ready to fly up in air with parachute, harnessed safely to the boat. I went in second, ahead of others in my group. Why? I thought going in second was lucky.

Once I reached high up in air, fear completely subsided. It was a very exhilarating, wonderful feeling. When I felt it was time to come down, back to boat, I didn’t want to come. I pleaded, “Please let me remain up.” Once down, I was very proud of myself inwardly. I guess my body language said it. It was reassuring to other girls. I told them it is not-a-big-deal and that they could even let go of their hands once they were in air. I had done it as we were safely harnessed.

As it turned out, the girls did make lot of scared noises when it was their turn to parasail. One of them stopped crying, started relaxing when she was up in the air. But other one never stopped screaming even when she was up in air. She threw up later when she was sitting safely with us in the speedboat. Perhaps she had a phobia of heights!

While returning, we asked the other group how much were they charged for parasailing. To our surprise, they were charged 200 bucks less than us (we had bargained too!). Being the champions for consumer rights, we hounded the parasailing guys for overcharging us. I got a complimentary water scooter ride! How free things please us. πŸ™‚

waterscooterSalman Khan also rides a water scooter in Partner. But if you watch the movie carefully, it is clear that he doesn’t ride water scooter by himself either. Well, so I was sitting in front of rider on water scooter. It was exhilarating. πŸ™‚

We took our leave from the other group when we landed from our speedboat. One of the guys, gave me this parting shot, “You are one very brave girl I have come across. I have not known one before!” LOL, little did he know how scared I was! πŸ˜€ Ask my companions!

to be continued in next part

More:
My Trip to Goa: Part 1
My Trip to Goa: Part 3

25 Responses to “My Trip to Goa: Day 2”


  1. 1 Nita February 8, 2008 at 3:31 am

    A nice personalized travelogue Poonam. I have been to Goa several times and it is one of my favourite places. I hope you will write something about Goan food too!

  2. 2 Sidharth Kumar February 8, 2008 at 6:33 am

    Atleast dont put firangi clad photos of GOA
    dont u have anything ORIGINAL ??????
    If you cant upload ur pics, upload the ones which don’t have you

  3. 3 Poonam Sharma February 8, 2008 at 8:24 am

    @Nita: Thanks Nita! I am going to disappoint you when it comes to Goan food. I am a veggie and don’t even eat onions. I could not taste most of Goan cuisine except special desserts.

    @Sid: When you are so many feet up in air, your face never shows in picture. In fact even parachute is not so good looking. And some pictures of mine were distorted when they came along. But I wanted to put pictures of parasailing and water scooter to give an idea.

    Aur sun, why don’t you write your blog name when you write comment. That should make your name clickable. Interested folks might visit your blog. Thank me for the tip, lallu. πŸ˜›

  4. 4 praneshachar February 8, 2008 at 8:47 am

    great experience in sea and nice compliments too you got so at the end it was amazing for u & co.,
    good sailing it must be real nice experience and I admire your grit in going second even though u were scared that makes the difference u took the chance and succeeded so those who take chances will have opportunity to succeed. at the end u were successful

  5. 5 ish February 8, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Lol, if it was me and parasailing, I would have been shouting more than the girls most probably. πŸ˜›

    That’s why I don’t go and try Roadies. πŸ˜›

  6. 6 nishu February 8, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    I added you to my blogroll
    and yeah paid posts or paid links .. ur PR will go down for sure

  7. 7 Anshul February 9, 2008 at 7:56 am

    Good Job πŸ™‚

    Now get off my parachute πŸ˜‰

  8. 8 ish February 9, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Did you know that when you were chilling out in Goa, the MTV Roadies were also there. Did you see any cameras, shooting etc?

  9. 9 Sidharth Kumar February 10, 2008 at 5:04 am

    yeah thanks for reminding me that.
    All i was saying is that even if you don’t to upload pics with you in it or because they are distorted, upload some true authentic real pics you took when you went there. That will look even better.

  10. 10 puresunshine February 10, 2008 at 10:47 am

    This must have been so much fun!

    @ish-yes! I saw that Roadies episode on TV yesterday! cool man! the banana boat ride was so much fun!

  11. 11 ish February 10, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    @puresunshine: Yeah, the banana boat was fun but I’m sad that Ankita Simran girl got kicked out in the first round. I was like supporting her. I even left her a message on the MTV website thinking that she might read it someday. Desperation! πŸ˜›

  12. 12 Ankur Aggarwal February 10, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    600/- per day for a bike is too steep…
    but i must admit to volunteer for the first parasail…
    esp when the demo failed

  13. 13 Poonam Sharma February 11, 2008 at 6:18 am

    @praneshachar: Actually, I would do it again. So I think in hindsight, it was no big deal. πŸ™‚

    @Ish: I saw Raghu asking Roadies interviewees that you all say you love adventure. why don’t you do it yourself? Seriously, it is easy with places as Shivpuri (near Rishikesh) where all sorts of water sports happen and they are cheap.

    I never saw a roadie crew in Goa. Though I saw that episode. And like you, I was interested to see more of Ankita. Sad she is out even before journey started. 😦

    @Nishu: Thanks for adding. About time. πŸ˜›

    @Anshul: Aha, I saw your pic. Mine is similar and parachute is also vague.

    @Sid: I will never put up my pics/friends pics on my blog. That is my policy. Perhaps I can upload some personal pics without me it. Will see, what I can do about it.

    @puresunshine: yes, it was fun! I have rid that raft but in Shivpuri not Goa. Some companies have it as part of team-building exercises too. πŸ™‚

    @Ankur: Steep! Next day people paid 1000 bucks for that same scooter. Goa is exorbitantly priced at this time of year (Dec 25-Jan 5).

    Uh huh, I went in second. Because I believe number 2 is lucky. Superstition, you see. πŸ™‚

  14. 14 Ankur Aggarwal February 11, 2008 at 6:35 am

    i went in last week of Oct and got the bikes for 300/-
    but ya all is demand and supply

  15. 15 ish February 11, 2008 at 7:39 am

    You’re right. There were many people who said they like adventure but they’ve never done it. Raghu totally bajaood them. He’s got style..and presence. The other day I read an article by him in the newspaper in which he had written about how the word “failure” should be chucked from the education system. I was kind of impressed.

    I wanted to see more of Ankita too because she looked like someone who was clever and who would manipulate people. I guess the other ones were dumb either and realized that she’d do something bad afterwards and threw her out. I’m hoping there’s a wildcard episode or something and she comes back. Otherwise I’ll be supporting Ashu..the guy is such a character!

  16. 16 Poonam Sharma February 11, 2008 at 9:23 am

    @ankur: yes, October is better time to go, less expensive. I hope to send my parents to vacation then. πŸ™‚

    @ish: Where does Raghu write? I am also hoping for wildcard entry to get Varun and Ankita back. It was funny how they plotted against each other and both get out. πŸ™‚

    I too like Ashu. He behaves exactly as he is, doesn’t try to act cool. I guess that is also the reason he was awarded entry by Raghu and Nikhil. I saw his interview, he was clam and honest in face of all usual insinuations by Raghu and Nikhil. I saw in peek that Sonal say to him, Can she become his girlfriend! Lol

  17. 17 ish February 11, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    I don’t know if Raghu writes regularly. I’ve seen only one article by him and that was in HT Style. And you’re right about how they plotted against each other and got thrown out. The Snehashish guy is very clever.

    I’m genuinely hoping Ashu doesn’t get carried away and says no to Sonel. She’s weird man..almost dumb lol. And yeah, the guy was good with Raghu and Nikhil. They did try to instigate him a lot..but he was as casual as ever. And I think is monkey acting totally got him in. That was the kind of confidence and unpredictability and passion they were looking for.

  18. 18 prachi February 12, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    adventure sports…parasailing and free water scooter ride…sahi hai beedu. πŸ˜€ I bow down to the champion of consumer rights……. you know what you are doing such a good job of promoting tourism in Goa through your blog coz after reading your blog, all your readers will be reminded of that jingle…go goa…:P i would definitely recommend your name for a commission from the goan govt. if I were asked to do so. kep the travelogue goin dudette…waiting to see goa through your eyes.

  19. 19 Poonam Sharma February 13, 2008 at 5:14 am

    @Ish: Whenever you find Raghu’s articles, forward them to me. I never thought that guy could write. True, Sneha seems to be clever so far.

    Yes, as Raghu said about Ashu’s monkey act that he could teach monkeys. πŸ™‚ I also thought that in last episode that roadies unnecessarily bothered Ayaz, he kinda meant well for Ankita.

    @Prachi: Welcome to Visceral Observations! πŸ™‚

    Kar de mujhe Goan government ko recommend, shayad agle trip pur discount de de. I am planning to send my parents to Goa in October.

    Waise I liked that jingle: GO Goa!

    Yeah, watch out for more of travelogue. πŸ™‚

  20. 21 ish February 13, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Raghu’s article was in the newspaper yaar, otherwise I would’ve forwarded you. I tried searching for it but couldn’t find it. Will try later and see if I can find it.

    Ayaz deserved that, if you ask me. When they were plotting against Ankita, and he was part of it, he can’t go tell her. Obviously it seems he liked her and stuff.

  21. 22 Poonam Sharma February 22, 2008 at 4:23 am

    @ Anil: are you a travel writer?

    @Ish: Raghu’s article was in the newspaper yaar, otherwise I would’ve forwarded you.

    o koi gal nahi yaar…as for Ayaz, I sympathised with him only because he tried to protect Ankita. and I remember Ashutosh saying in his usual raw style, β€œbatao ji ab to ladko ke pet bhi ladkiyon ki tarah hone lage.”

  22. 23 goa guide February 17, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    i enjoyed reading your blog as if i was also traveled along with you. this blog is really very enjoyable.


  1. 1 My Trip to Goa: Day 3 « Visceral Observations Trackback on March 9, 2008 at 10:05 am
  2. 2 My Trip to Goa: Day 4 « Visceral Observations Trackback on May 10, 2008 at 6:39 pm

Leave a comment




Subscribe to Visceral Observations

     
Add to Technorati Favorites

Thank you, Chirag!

This header has been created by Chirag.

A Torch Against Terrorists

     

I also write at:

Blog Archives

Read by Category

World AIDS Day 2008

Support World AIDS Day
The Hunger Site
Creative Commons License
Visceral Observations is written by Poonam Sharma. It is licensed to her under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License
Directory of General Blogs
February 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829