My Trip to Goa: Day 1

My trip to Bombay and Goa was business-cum-pleasure. I will write only the pleasure part here. πŸ™‚ And I will start my story after arrival at Goa via Bombay.

After researching for few hours on Web and Lonely Planet guides, the beach of our choice was Candolim beach. A very good decision in the hindsight. πŸ™‚ The more popular beaches like Calangute or Bagha were too crowded and commercial at this time of year. Candolim beach had right balance of privacy we needed and popularity. It was close to almost all our wannabe destinations in Goa. And Calangute beach was also few kilometers away.

candolim beach

People relaxing on sunbeds on Candolim beach. Of course, I did not set my eyes on this sunny view of beach until my day 2 at Goa.

Anticipating rush for Goa at new year eve, we booked our air tickets and hotel well within time. However, we were not sure about our choice of hotel choice. We had every intention of changing our hotel after we reached Goa. Until we actually landed there.

Our hotel, as it turned out, was a pleasant surprise. It was just a 5-minute walk from the beach. Well-maintained and also had a nice pool. Considering the new year crunch, rooms were very reasonably priced. In fact, we spent least on our hotel in our entire trip. However, this trip was expensive compared to my other trips. We spent about 36k per two persons including travel and food. But it was worth it, every minute of it. πŸ™‚

Day 1: First thing that struck us when we de-boarded the train (from Mumbai) was that it was too hot in Goa. Ok, I knew Goa would not be as cold as Delhi. But I had no idea that it would be so hot that I would not be able to wear a even full-sleeved cotton T-shirt. And I was carrying only full-sleeved shirts and T-shirts. Darn! I needed a new wardrobe.

We were tired after our flight and train journey. It seemed that our hotel had been overbooked for the day on account of a guest overstaying. Sharon, who runs the hotel along with her family, promptly gave us a nice room (though not the one we had booked) to freshen up and have a afternoon nap. Sharon’s mother cooked us a nice vegetarian lunch at hotel. Also, food was cooked without onions, as requested by me. πŸ™‚

We slept and woke up late in the evening after sunset. It was, then in late evening, we decided to explore our beach. We passed empty sunbeds while walking to beach. It was in complete darkness when I first laid eyes on a Goan beach. I was surprised to find that though beach shacks were crowded with people drinking and dancing on the music, there was actually no one at the waterfront! No one on a beach at Goa, just us!

There were high tides in the beach. Water made a huge gushing sound. Every few minutes the waterline would recede only to get back water with full force like a mini, sweet tsunami. My companions were very excited and running through water in dark. But I was scared and would cowardly urge them to move back to beachshacks! I could be heard shouting, “Don’t go deep, water might take you away, no one will even know, we are gone!” ha ha this in Goa! Of course, no one paid heed to me.

After a while, I did loosen up. I kicked off my floaters and waded in water as much as my meagre courage would permit. Cool and refreshing, that’s how water was. This was just beginning, we still had few more days to explore these beautiful, de-stressing waters. Hurrah! πŸ™‚

I have just started telling my story and I realise that this post is becoming too long. More interesting stuff later. πŸ™‚

to be continued in day 2 experiences

19 Responses to “My Trip to Goa: Day 1”


  1. 1 Liju Philip February 7, 2008 at 3:26 am

    Oh lovely Goa. The one and only time i went there was when my previous company had a business conference there. I fell in love with the place.

    On my previous trip, i wanted to take my parents there. But sigh, plans couldnt materialise. Nyway, there is always a next time.

    Btw, can you write the name of the hotel/airlines you took. Helps in planning you see πŸ˜‰ thanks.

  2. 2 dinsan February 7, 2008 at 6:17 am

    coool πŸ™‚ I Goa is in my list .. Btw, my house is 2 Km away from the sea πŸ˜‰

  3. 3 kpowerinfinity February 7, 2008 at 9:28 am

    You had good fun yaar. I am so jealous πŸ™‚

  4. 4 ish February 7, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Sounds cool. And you don’t like onions? Same me! I can’t eat onions. I hate ’em. People in here eat them with alcohol. Namkeen and Alcohol I understand. Chicken and Alcohol I understand but Onions and alcohol? Totally beats me.

    I want to go to a beach once, haven’t been on one till now. All I’ve seen is plains and mountains. So beaches and water would be a nice change..that’s what I think.

  5. 5 Poonam Sharma February 7, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    @Liju: In my last part of the travelogue, I will tell some things about hotel and flight. Flight wasn’t always good and sometimes there were uncaring people onboard. 😦 It was GoAir.

    And I also want my parents to visit Goa in October.

    @wow! where is your house? At one point, my house was also walking distance from a river. My parents still live there.

    @I didnt know you too didn’t like onions. Go to Goa one day. Arre! soon you will!

  6. 6 lallopallo February 7, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Cool trip Miss Poonam..:)
    Goa is like a cult place for people not only in India but world over..For half of the foreigners, India means either Taj Mahal or Goa..I have heard that there are some places in Goa ( my friend told me) where you will find only whites living there all through the year..
    My only memory of Goa which has stayed with me during the last 20 years ( As a kid, I visited Goa in 1987 with my family during one of those LTC trips of my father ) is of Anjuna beach where fully naked women strolled around unabashedly and thus shake the Victorian morality of many Indians around them ( including my Father I suspect..lol ) who watched them with some guilt and forced their kids to not to look that way..:)

    A second visit to Goa is on cards..thanks for reminding me Poonam..

  7. 7 praneshachar February 8, 2008 at 6:45 am

    wonderful trip narration is superb it is like ball by ball commentary what a way to begin new year
    great start for 2008 for ms. poonam let me wish you have a wonderful year ahead and more and more trips to explore and come our with nice write ups for us

  8. 8 Poonam Sharma February 8, 2008 at 8:14 am

    @lallopallo: Hmm..pretty good memory you have. I went on trip a month ago, my amnesiac self is already forgetting details of the trip. You are right, predominantly visitors were foreign. And I never saw completely naked people but yes did find topless foreigners.

    So when do you plan to go to Goa next?

    @praneshachar: Nah! not at all a ball-by-ball commentary. Just few nice moments. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the wishes, you too have a wonderful year ahead!

  9. 9 Crimson Feet February 8, 2008 at 8:36 am

    you just might like this…

    http://crimsonfeet.blogspot.com/2006/09/wildly-romantic-book-called-goa-go.html

    Hey, I read it and commented there. Nice trip you had!

  10. 10 leostanley February 11, 2008 at 4:20 am

    goa is a good place to travel.

    So it is, Leo. Have you been there?

  11. 11 Veenu February 11, 2008 at 10:48 am

    I have seen beaches all through my life! been only on the coastal areas.. but i heard there is something about the beaches of Goa..
    Hey, i want a break from work too, even i want to goto Goa!

    Poonam: been only on the coastal areas

    Where have you lived so far? Plan a vacation in Goa in October. You would have fun too. As for immediate break from work, let me know where you are. Perhaps I can be your travel agent. πŸ˜›

  12. 12 Veenu February 12, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Hey Poonam @ Took a break and went to Delhi/Bareilly just a couple of weeks back!

    Was in Calcutta, Kakinada, Vizag, Chennai….All throught out my life! All are costal areas…hence i find it very difficult to live in places like Delhi/B’lore/Pune…

    But i have been to UP (Lucknow & Bareilly), HP (Shimla, Manali, Mclore,Rothang Pass) Maharashtra (Pune, Shiridi, Anjanta & Ellora Caves, etc), Otty/Kodai in TN…too…

    Sure, you can be my travel agent πŸ˜‰ Really keen in visiting this place, heard a lot about its beaches, church and wine πŸ˜‰

  13. 13 prachi February 12, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    poonam, first things first…girl i am sooooooooo envious!!! GOA that too during xmas/new year’s…to top it all your very graphic description of day 1 makes me even greener…:D i know i wil cursemyself for this…but lady upload some pics of the amazing trip and make us all dislike you a lil more πŸ˜› jokes apart want to read all about your lovely trip. and i hereby solemnly declare myself a fan of your blog!!!

  14. 14 Poonam Sharma February 13, 2008 at 7:31 am

    @Veenu: Its good to take break. Delhi mein kya kiya? I understand how you feel about living in cities after living in coastal areas all your life. How come you have lived in so many places? Your father obviously worked in a transferrable job but where?

    Goa is great, but i thought I could suggest you some nearby place for weekend trips if you were staying somewhere in north India.

    @Parchi: and i hereby solemnly declare myself a fan of your blog!!!

    Aye haye..iske liye tumhe bahut se hugs. πŸ™‚

  15. 15 Neel May 10, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    Hey poonam while i was reading your blog you made me feel like i am in goa Itself… now this year for sure i am gonna spend my vacations in goa with friends… Thanks…

  16. 16 Rahul September 26, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Arambol Beach was just Awesome, I see a Girl doing Belly Dance there totally flater on her, love visiting goa

    Love the cloth optional way the foreigners. roam here n there (Totally Relaxed)


  1. 1 My Trip to Goa: Day 3 « Visceral Observations Trackback on March 9, 2008 at 10:04 am
  2. 2 My Trip to Goa: Day 2 « Visceral Observations Trackback on March 28, 2008 at 7:37 am
  3. 3 My Trip to Goa: Day 4 « Visceral Observations Trackback on May 8, 2008 at 10:45 am

Leave a comment




Subscribe to Visceral Observations

     
Add to Technorati Favorites

Thank you, Chirag!

This header has been created by Chirag.

A Torch Against Terrorists

     

I also write at:

Blog Archives

Read by Category

World AIDS Day 2008

Support World AIDS Day
The Hunger Site
Creative Commons License
Visceral Observations is written by Poonam Sharma. It is licensed to her under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License
Directory of General Blogs
February 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829