Light Has Gone Out of Indian Idol 3

A few days ago I read few great posts about my few of my favorite reality shows in some of the blogs. Some of them have had meticulously updated their posts to record the progress and nuances of various contestants in these shows. Indian Idol, Nach Baliye, Comic Circus, and Jhala Dikhla Ja—I have watched them all with anticipation and enthusiasm.

Like millions of viewers, I have both applauded and criticized the performances. I have had my share of disappointments when my favorite contestant was eliminated. But nevertheless, I continued watching these shows as they were my personal window to concerts that were held right in my bedroom. Where else would I get a glimpse of brilliant cha-cha-cha, or a glitzy jazz performance or disco dance, or an innovative, never-performed-before stand-up comedy, or my favorite number being sung with new harkats in spunk and grand style on stage?

I watched these shows casually to unwind. Sometimes I read or discussed about them. Like every fair Indian, I felt sad when Shweta Salve, obviously a better dancer than Mona Singh lost in Jhalak Dikhla Ja because latter was more popular, having played recently a popular character called Jassi in a TV soap. I was stupefied when a Parsi celebrity couple performed magnificently on a wordless music. I was outraged when the guy from that same Parsi couple admitted, in a moment of shock during their elimination from the show Nach Baliye 2, to (physically?) abusing his partner. (He used that opportunity to apologize and thank her.) I watched Hussain and Tina win the coveted dancing couple’s titles. I read that Abhijit Sawant had published his autobiography. I watched Ruprekha Bannerji win Fame Gurukul along with Qazi Toukir, and later never realized that she has disappeared after the win. I witnessed everything, yet nothing was motivating enough to make me reflect and write about it. Until today.

It is this about this 18-year-old girl who had enthralled me with her performances in Indian Idol 3—Ankita Mishra.

In my busy job, when I come home late and tired after commuting in a city that has lack of good public transport, there is little energy remaining to invest in anything else. I barely eat and yearn to sleep at the first opportunity. Yet I rarely fail to see Friday and Saturday Indian Idol 3 shows. Friday because it is the performance day and Saturday as it is the show where results of public voting are announced. Fridays I watched Ankita sizzle and perform in her innovate style and power-packed performance. Her detailing about the props and dress, her masti, her heart and soul she put into song is always hard to miss. It pepped up my tired soul after a hard day at work. On Saturdays, I watched with anticipation and prayers that Ankita would linger on the show. She is the only one I voted for in this show.

I have heard several criticisms about Ankita, hither and thither on blogs, from people. They are correct. Yes, she is not pretty looking gal on the show. And she certainly is not best singer out on the show. But do I care? I watch the show to be entertained. I certainly am not a music connoisseur, if I were, I would buy expensive tickets of that classical singer and sit-through a music session that doesn’t give me the pep up I need to survive another week of grind at work. If it a singing gem that needs to win, why does that aam admi, who doesn’t understand the rudiments of basic music, votes? Why don’t we get the best music connoisseurs from the country select the best singer instead. Clearly, it is not the aim. Aim is to get the best entertainer, one that reaches your soul, can take away your tiredness of the day or week so that you are all revved to handle daily humdrums of life. After all, isn’t that why we have entertainment?

Ankita-Way to Go

Ankita Mishra with Govinda

This girl, Ankita, gave me that reason to unwind. As Javed Akhtar said, yeh dil se gaati hai, apne liye gaati hai. Perhaps that was why her performance always reached to me. I always waited impatiently for her turn to find out what she would perform this time. Remember her Rangeela performance with hat or her Aap jaisa koi or her Piya tu ab to aa ja performances that had big cage on the stage. Did I notice that she had few of her notes up and down? I was too captivated to notice while I watched her. The audio of her performance heard stand-alone retains that special enthusiasm and confidence. It is contagious.

I proudly say Ankita was my favorite contestant. She is the sole reason why I wrote this post about reality shows. Ankita, you rock. Perhaps it was the only time I agreed with Anu Malik when he unabashedly admired your performances and your hunger to excel. Move on and do well in your life. As for me, now that you are gone, the light has gone out of Indian Idol 3.

24 Responses to “Light Has Gone Out of Indian Idol 3”


  1. 1 ish September 2, 2007 at 5:57 am

    I can understand how you feel. Of course I was one of those bloggers who had criticized Ankita, but now it really does feel that the show will be very dull without her. The funniest thing about Indian Idol is that people always get eliminated when they start performing well and start getting good comments from the judges after a long drought.

    But if you ask me, this was inevitable. After all, everybody has to get eliminated and only one shall survive. And everybody knew in the heart of hearts that it most probably will not be Ankita. But it does feel bad when your favorite contestant gets eliminated. I will like to see who gets eliminated next. I think Amit should be the winner but who knows, even Emon is good. And it could be Prashant too, he’s immensely popular.

    Will not go away before repeating your sentiments. Ankita, you rock and I sincerely hope you make it really big in life and shut all them bloggers who criticized you.

  2. 2 Poonam Sharma September 2, 2007 at 10:05 am

    hey ishmeet, i have no rancour or complaints with anyone who criticized Ankita. It is a public poll, people are bound to be criticized. But the girl had a spark and sumthng else, i don’t know how to say it, but she please me, entertained me best of all. This morning I saw repeat telecast of Indian Idol 3 where she sang dekh le…I had missed watching that performance. To me, it was mindblowing. When Javed Akhtar praised her, I thought he was echoing my pride. I felt sad now that I will not see that light again.

    As for Amit, he was my second best favorite contestant. He is best of other two. But how I wish he wont be complacent, relying on this gift of voice and takent. Wish he would stretch his boundaries, go lil out of way to entertain like Ankita did. She had perhaps less of them, but pleased most than others.

  3. 3 ish September 2, 2007 at 3:06 pm

    For me, Ankita’s best performance was Yai Re from Rangeela. She rocked that day.

  4. 4 Poonam Sharma September 3, 2007 at 5:57 am

    Yes Ish, I agree. That was one memorable performance. I remember that hat … 🙂

    Prior to her performance, I had been staring at the hat and wondering why is she dressed so strangely and out-of-place…

  5. 5 Rehyana September 5, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    Hi to all Ankita fans, first of all i would like to say i was and still am Ankita supporter. She was the light of Indian Idol 3 as most of you have mentioned.

    All of her singing and performances were outstanding from the time she gave her audition to the day she was eliminated.

    Loads of people have criticised her, that she chooses and sings to item numbers only where she can perform , i feel her song selection was amazing she chose something different each time and was noting boring.

    The reason why i used to watch indian idol 3 was because of her, now so sadly as she has been eliminated i am no longer interested. Oh well she never won the crown of indian idol 3, but she won loads of hearts. As she used to say “mein chaap chod ke jana chahti hun” i think she has succeded and everyone will remember her.

    I wish Ankita best of luck for the future in the music career, which she should never stop and move on to something big. We would love to hear and see more of you. You are my indian idol 3…

  6. 7 Poonam Sharma September 6, 2007 at 6:30 am

    Rehyana, usually I do not write about TV serials I watch. But after seeing your comment I am glad that I wrote about Ankita.

    It feels great to reach out to people like you who shared my thoughts. It is true for me, Ankita was true paisa wasool entertainment.

    As for Ankita, she has definitely left a indelible mark on at least us. 🙂

  7. 8 kartick September 6, 2007 at 9:24 am

    of all the shows i think the one which really potrays singing talent n not much nautanki is sa re ga ma..the quality of the singers is awesome n all of them at present can win all other shows in other channels..

  8. 9 An x Idol fan September 7, 2007 at 4:46 am

    I am also a diehard Ankita fan. She understands the visual medium of TV and the importance of entertaining the audience. Her voice has a strength to it and her II3 videos have repeat value (Rangeela re was her best). One can watch it for the sheer energy, enthusiasm and intellgence of her performance.

    I also felt a special empathy for her because she tried so hard week after week andperformed well inspite of all the nasty comments from her co-contestants (who were clearly threatened by her). She deserved to be in the Top 5 and I am glad she beat Puja and Deepali to that slot

  9. 10 AVS September 7, 2007 at 8:19 am

    After Ankita’s exit, I have decided to stop watching Indian Idol-3. It is very much unfair that she had to leave. She was the only singer had her own voice and not copying any one else. Rest are all copying the popular voices.

  10. 11 Poonam Sharma September 7, 2007 at 9:04 am

    @kartick: You maybe rite, perhaps there are better singers in sa re ga ma. But I don’t watch it. And I question myself, why I dont like to watch it. I think I like sleek, glitzy kind of look and I dont get in other channels. 😦 Shallow? I know, yes it is.

    @An x Idol fan: I noticed you said x indian idol fan, I feel the same. Today is Friday, I am not sure if I would like to watch the show without Ankita.

    @AVS: Welcome aboard! I think the same. 🙂 Keep coming to the blog!

  11. 12 Rehyana September 16, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    Poonam Sharma: Thanks you wrote after reading my message about Ankita.

    […] 2007: Thats true indian idol 3 is boring after our favourite had been eliminated.

    I am also glad she beat Puja and Deepali and became top 4. Infact in my opinion Ankita should have won, but the janta don’t know what they want. Girls vote for their good looking guy and boys cant see girls ahead of them. When girls dont win then everyone says why? Actually this is not about gender, we didn’t want Ankita to have sympathy votes but talent votes.

    Why most people dont like her? this is the question keeps comming to my mind, which none answers one thing comes into my mind is jelousy because Ankita has the complete package.

    I don’t care who wins i only listen to Ankitas songs. Trust me if you just listen to Ankita’s singing without watching the performance sounds like a professional singing, which only some people can notice…

  12. 13 Poonam Sharma September 18, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    Hey Rehyana, welcome back…I write for my readers like you…How could I not respond to your views 🙂

    You echo my feelings about missing Ankita on the show. I think Ankita could not be very popular because she is neither very great looking gal (though I like her as she is) nor can she make the best classical singer around…Sadly, in this country beautiful girls like Charu Semwal can be very popular..thankfully some sense prevailed and people got her out at the right time…

  13. 14 alisha(kiddo) September 28, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    wowww one of d best blog i ve cm across!! Anky ws alwyz ma favo along wit Amit !! am an ardent fan of Ankita nd usd to fyt for her whneva sm1 tries to criticize her!
    i agree wit woteva yu ve written excpet dis particular statement
    “she is not pretty looking gal on the show”
    i gus yu ve nt seen her afta d makeover!! She luks lyk a true rockstar!! nd she s gettin a lhell lotta offers for stage performance!!! em so proud dat em her fan!!
    nd we ve even created her site.. do visit der often for more news bout Anky!!
    http://www.ankitamishra.org

  14. 15 Poonam Sharma September 29, 2007 at 5:13 pm

    Hey, Alisha glad you expressed your passion about Ankita’s performances….and you are right, I have not watched Ankita after makeover 😦 Though God knows, she was still good at her performances without it. 🙂

    And I have visited your web site and shared my suggestions for it. I have simply a thumbs up for your site. Thanks for sharing it with me. 🙂

    Keep on reading!

  15. 16 Veesham Maharaj November 1, 2007 at 8:14 am

    I am a promoter from South Africa and think that Ankita Rocked The Indian Idols Show, Her performances on Stage was great and most important of all she always created a new Concept and Innovative idea with every song performed.

    Sadly she never got to the Top 3.

    Veesham MaharaJ

    Poonam: Veesham, that is true..Ankita rocked! She was my favorite, who gave me a reason to write about these shows. It is sad in India girls really don’t procure votes in reality show or she could have been in top 3. I don’t why girls do not get votes? Is it gender bias or it is that girls themselves do not vote for female contestants? I don’t know yet.

  16. 17 sanjay November 11, 2007 at 3:09 am

    Ankita was the best!!
    It was a shame she was eliminated.
    I also feel that Richa was a *********

    Poonam: Hi, I have edited your comment. I wont have anyone abusing a woman on my blog.

  17. 18 Rehyana November 22, 2007 at 1:44 am

    This is a site for us to put our views forward of our favourite indian idol not swear at anyone. This is the same as we like Ankita there maybe someone whos favourite is the one you swear at. Basically its like someone swearing at Ankita, what would you do? I wouldnt take it either if anyone would swear or say anything bad about Ankita.

    Keep this message flow going as it will keep memories of Ankita alive..

  18. 19 Poonam Sharma November 24, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    Well said…Rehyana…its a place reserved for Anikta. For her appreciation and not to pull down others. And no matter what, I hate anyone abusing women. I have strong aversion to such people. I stay away from them.

    Thanks for putting your voice here. 🙂

  19. 20 robert June 2, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Ankita has the talent and the guts to Rock any Function with her Voice and Attitude.

    Poonam: So she has, but we have not had opportunity to see her again except for her brief appearances in K for Kishore. Have you seen here anywhere? Anything that you most remember about her?

    Two of her co-contestants Deepali and Chang will be hosting next season of Indian Idol. I am disappointed that it is not Ankita.

  20. 21 neel bhojani March 17, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    hey dude, u’r abso rite coz me also hv d sam fellin aba anky!….

    Thanks for sharing it here even after so long!

  21. 22 Ankita April 24, 2023 at 9:54 pm

    Thank you, this made my day today


  1. 1 The Kite Runner « Visceral Observations Trackback on September 3, 2007 at 5:43 am
  2. 2 Faded Lights at Indian Idol « Visceral Observations Trackback on September 9, 2007 at 8:28 am

Leave a comment




Subscribe to Visceral Observations

     
Add to Technorati Favorites

Thank you, Chirag!

This header has been created by Chirag.

A Torch Against Terrorists

     

I also write at:

Blog Archives

Read by Category

World AIDS Day 2008

Support World AIDS Day
The Hunger Site
Creative Commons License
Visceral Observations is written by Poonam Sharma. It is licensed to her under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License
Directory of General Blogs
September 2007
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930