Movie Review: Thoda Pyaar, Thoda Magic

Nothing better to watch, I went to watch Thoda Pyar, Thoda Magic (TPTM). The show was houseful, and so were all the other shows for this movie. I resigned myself to watch the movie from front lines. It was foolish. πŸ™‚ No, not watching from front seats, you get used to it after 15-20 minutes. But movie was not worth it.

The concept is entirely picked from Oscar award winning Mary Poppins, it is Indianised on the lines of Mr. India (as director Kunal Kohli proclaimed in an interview). The only common thing it has with Mr. India is this is a movie for kids with a “sensous” underwater dance by adults, Ameesha and Saif. This movie can never be Mr. India as latter had an iconic villain, a message and awesome imagination and cinematography. Moreover, adults loved Mr. India, most adults won’t like TPTM.

Just as in Mary Poppins, in TPTM, God sends an angel on earth to unite the family of Saif and four kids. There goes the story in one line.

Casting and characterization are biggest flaws of this movie.

Julie Andrews as angel in Mary Poppins

Rani Mukherjee as angel in Thoda Pyar Thoda Magic

Compare petite Julie Andrews of Mary Poppins’s angel with overweight and visibly aged Rani Mukherjee. Plus angel does not look refined, angel speaks mixture of Punjabi and Hindi! After reading, watching so many fairy tales, this fairy was a one big let down. I almost coughed at the sight of BIG Rani cycling on a rainbow (read kiddie’s cycle) with her legs in air! Even though Manish Malhotra has designed her Nanny’s dress that she wore throughout the movie to make her an iconic character, it was hard to remember she is an angel. She looks silly at times. Now before you “Black” me, I have not said a single bad word about Rani’s acting prowess.

Ameesha Patel, as Saif‘s girlfriend is projected as pure bimbette (I hate this word though), dressed in tight, short dresses. She even rambles about bags and pink/blue interior designs. This was another silly, immature characterization on director’s part. I also cringed every time they called a Rishi Kapoor (dressed in all-white) “Bhagwaan”. And you know what, angels were also bitching in heaven. πŸ˜›

Mary Poppins was a musical that made Walt Disney pictures. TPTM has a song that traces Indian history while angel teaches kids about history of Indian struggle. Another song that you must have a lot about being for adults. But that song too had chaotic and confusing moments. I was wondering why would an angel resort to childish, destructive route? I was just confused what director was thinking, not that I care.

My friend who accompanied me to movie predicted that there would be cartoons, well, there were. Not as good as those in Hum Tum. I have like Kunal Kohli’s earlier work like Hum Tum (so- so) and Fanaa, but now I think he is one of overrated directors.

For lack of anything better than yawning, I ogled at Saif’s wardobe. He looked dashing in few scenes. To clarify, I am not a big Saif fan, but I recognize that he is a good actor, gets into the skin of the character.

I don’t know if kids liked it. But a good kid movie can entertain adults too. Harry Potter is watched and read enthusiastically by adults too. There is Baby’s Day Out, Ice Age, Simpsons, Spiderman, Superman and thousands more. If we adults stop enjoying kid movies, I think its time Film Censor board rolled out a “K” certificate, meaning “for kids only”.

Rating: 2/5

41 Responses to “Movie Review: Thoda Pyaar, Thoda Magic”


  1. 1 Anshul July 1, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Seeing Rani in an angel avatar is bit disturbing, mainly for angels. She will look apt in a Witch(evil) avatar i think… + she also has voice that would match the role.

  2. 2 dinu July 1, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    That K cert was funny !!
    Hmm I’m a Rani fan …. and your comments about her looks made me sad 😦

  3. 3 Manpreet July 1, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog Poonam. I somehow feel you do not approve of BIG angels. πŸ™‚ Whoever said angels had to be thin? and Young? And why can they not speak unrefined ‘Punjabi’ and ‘Hindi’? I have no particular liking for Rani. But she was as good as anyone else in this movie. While there WERE stupid things in the movie, these were not those.
    I agree with you that KK is definitely an over-rated director.

  4. 4 Manpreet July 1, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    sorry, the sentence should read ‘unrefined’ Punjabi or Hindi.

  5. 5 Animesh Raj July 1, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    I was really confused whether I should go watch the movie or not. Thanks to you I have saved myself from three hours of boredom. Bollywood is getting very unimaginative these days. The first half of 2008 has been terrible! Hope the second half brings us some good movies.

  6. 6 Poonam Sharma July 1, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    @Anshul: I don’t know about Rani being witch, but she was not fit for”angelic” character. Abt voice I agree though.

    @Dinu: Dinu, Rani looks fine…but she was not apt for an angel. Kunal Kohli made her look silly. Big girl on small bike 😦

    I am sad if my comments hurt you. 😦

    @Manpreet: I have nothing against BIG angels,specifically not literally. But I have an aversion to all things that look silly. Sight of Rani with legs in air while cycling was silly. Maybe an over-sized, aged person can carry off the role, but Rani didn’t. Language is an important part of a character, to me Punjabi-Hindi mix was not appealing. I wanted to use a stronger word in my review, but refrained from it. Call it personal preference. Growing up on fairy tale books, my imagination of fairy is completely different, this angel was an antithesis.

    To me, Julie Andrews has looked aged even when she was young, but there was certain innocence, an ethereal quality about it. I found that lacking in the angel of this movie, it has got nothing to do with acting capability. It was to do with casting and characterization. Because frankly, I prefer Rani than other incompetent actresses around.

    Now that I respond your comment, I realise didn’t like the movie because I failed to identify with the characters, specifically the angel.

    @Animesh Raj: I am glad to know my review could help you make an decision. πŸ™‚

  7. 7 Monika July 1, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    Well, my four year old loved the movie & cannot stop talking about it & the “plus & minus points” has really caught on in my house. So I would say that if u have a kid in the house my son’s age, you should surely visit the theatre with him/her. Just the smile & excitement on the kid’s face would make you forget all the flaws & love the movie.
    πŸ™‚

  8. 8 Poonam Sharma July 1, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    @Monika: I agree with your reasoning. Most people who loved the movie are one wh had kids tagging along with them. This time I had gone out with friends. So we didn’t like though we noticed that hall was packed with families. Perhaps families loved it for kids. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the comment! πŸ™‚

  9. 9 vishesh July 1, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    so you say don’t go…u think 10 year olds will like it?

  10. 10 Rhapsy July 1, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    And I was thinking (seeing the promos), it’s futile attempt of ‘The Sound Of Music’ .. isn’t it cuz i am still thinking that..

    One thing I am sure of is to avoid this as I avoided all YR films post JBJ (I cannot forget that day I saw it)..barring Chak-De…

    YR films suck suck suck suck and they suck more.

  11. 11 Nita July 1, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Your details about the characterisation is very good Poonam. I agree that the so-called Bhagwan looked like a bufoon character and that Rani did not look like an angel at all. Wrong casting I think. And I thought Saif looked hot in some scenes too. πŸ™‚

  12. 12 dinu July 1, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Hey nothing to hurt there re !!! I like Rani … I dint watch this movie yet ( and I am not planning to !! ) so your comments are just fine,

  13. 13 vimal July 1, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    The inspirations are like on the face, but I dont think the movie is as bad as some of the earlier releases this year and comparatively good when compared to the other Yash Raj movies that came in two years (Chak de is an exception). Except for ameeshas presence, I guess the whole movie would be enjoyed by children. What I liked in TPTM is that none of the emotions are dragged, they were subtle. so were the gags, it was kept short and dint go on and on to irritate.

    I never did like any of Kunals work…According to me,Mujse Dosti Karogi was a torture, Fanaa was good only in the first half, and Hum tum was more cartoonish…
    Waiting eagerly for this Fridays release(s).

  14. 14 ish July 1, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Yes, you said what I was thinking. I like Rani Mukherjee but she was looking really stupid in that angel coming down on cycle waala scene. I mean, who cycles like that, for God’s (Rishi Kapoor?) sake. I thought this was gonna be a nice movie, I hoped it would because I think Rani and Saif look good together. But alas, maybe it wasn’t meant to be. And quite frankly, I thought that Lazy Lamhe song was totally needless.

  15. 15 Reema July 1, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Saif has come a long way really from his Aashiq Aawara/Mai Khiladi Tu Anadi movie look. The hot song is like the director wants to give something to adults too as a thank you for bringing their kids. buy one get one free. πŸ™‚ I’d enjoyed Hum Tum a lot. But TPTM reviews are making me think twice.

  16. 16 Amit July 1, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    Its a complete Kiddo movie. Saw it with my Mom n Dad….so I was the kid there. πŸ˜›
    I would say that Kunal should have applied a little more creativity and the movie would have been really good. And Rani as an angel was a big mistake but maybe he just wanted to repeat his lucky cast.
    Saif was good. He was supposed to be serious and he did that well. And the God with the Gizmos was not happening at all. 😐

  17. 17 Falcon July 1, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    @poonam
    I never knew u quit ur job to become a film critque…lol

  18. 18 Reema July 1, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    //God sends an angel on earth to unite the family of Said and four kids// I think u meant Saif not Said πŸ™‚

  19. 19 Liju Philip July 2, 2008 at 7:04 am

    Cant believe, anyone does watch a Yash Raj movie these days. I wouldnt touch their movies with a barge pole even if its available free streaming on the net.

    The last YR film i saw was Chak De and that too for the director Shimit Amin (surely not for Gay Rukh) cos i was too impressed by the director’s first movie, Ab tak Chappan.

  20. 20 Sakhi July 2, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Hey poonam, sorry buddy will not read the post till i take my kiddo to the movie, which might be on this weekend! πŸ™‚ so till then no comments on this post.. hope you dont mind πŸ™‚

  21. 21 RJ July 2, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Hey Poonam – Hieee! Reading the review I think the title should have been Thoda Pyaar, thoda TRAGIC! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

  22. 22 Poonam Sharma July 2, 2008 at 11:43 am

    @Vishesh: Yes, I say..don’t go yourself. But perhaps kids like that, that’s what many Mommies are saying. πŸ™‚

    @Rhapsy: I too remember JBJ, it was very disappointing. πŸ™‚ At interval you know, that they were lying. Except Chak De, they haven’t delivered any worthwhile movie.

    @Nita: Nita, I love you for saying you found Saif dashing in some scenes. My male companion would grudgingly agree too. πŸ™‚

    @dinu: Thanks for understanding! πŸ™‚

    @Vimal: Thank God that TPTM mercifully kept gags and melodrama short or I would have committed suicide. That is why I gave it 2. Yes, waiting for Friday’s releases. πŸ™‚
    @Ish: I knew we would think alike. Yes, Lazy lamhe song was needless, it was just there to lure adults. Bewakuf Kunal!

    @Reema: I too enjoyed Hum Tum. I am beginning to think Saif is an underrated character. He played villain like Langa tyagi and romantic hero as in Hum Tum, both well. Remember his look in old songs Jabh bhi koi ladki dekhun and Haathon mein aa gaya.. lol

    @Amit: True, Kunal must have wanted to repeat his lucky cast. Yes, Saif was fine.

    @Falcon: Job’s still there but reviews are part of public service too. πŸ™‚

    @Reema: corrected!

    @Liju: I had nothing better to do, and all nearby movie halls screened TPTM to houseful shows. I wwent to see Chak De without expecting anything, I had no idea by then who was Shimit AMin though I had watched Ab Tak Chappan. BUt I was impressed with Chak De.

    @Sakhi: I understand that, hope your kiddo likes it. There are not any spoilers in this review though, but it is bit scathing. πŸ™‚

    @RJ: Very apt! πŸ™‚

  23. 23 Ridhima July 2, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Movie is ok ok type…1st half has too much of graphic which look too fake. Considering that this movie is aimed at kids, its too emtional for that. Also, the songs are not really that good which generally takes away my initial euphoria of watching a movie. SEL have done a repeatitive job with this movie tracks though otherwise im a huge fan. IF you also a fan of SEL music, then join in Planet Radio City where you can get all the latest info about ur fav music and singer/composer. Also get lyrics and meet others who like your kinda music.

  24. 24 Ashish July 2, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    You could as much have written “Bakwas” than write all those lines… but then again you do want readers. πŸ˜›

    But what did you expect with a title like that? πŸ˜€

  25. 25 pr3rna July 2, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    After reading your review I guess I was lucky that I didn’t get the tickets. I like Rani and Saif after Dil chahta hai. I could have tolerated the movie because of these too.This week if I don’t get the tickets for Jaane tu…maybe I would still watch Thoda pyaar….Nice review Poonam.

  26. 26 harshasrisri July 2, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    thanx for the review. i almost wanted to see the movie to see if the cycle was ok after bearing Rani. now that i’ve seen this post, i think the cycle is fine πŸ˜€ thanx for saving a few bucks.
    Saif, i think, was a good actor from the past. Now, he’s choosing roles properly. (just like u, i ain’t a big fan of Saif to make this statement).
    Harry Potter was good till Half Blood Prince. Though Deathly Hallows had the intensity, it didn’t have a proper flow, as good as the 6th installment.
    I loved Mr. India! I remember pestering my dad to let me watch it on TV once, in spite of having an exam the next day (only for MOGAMBO’s sake πŸ˜€ ). Hmmm… Good old movies they were!

    PS:I had a good time here. U r in my Blogroll. have a nice time. πŸ™‚

  27. 27 Withering Willow July 3, 2008 at 10:00 am

    ha ha! πŸ˜€ what an awesome review….better than one of Raja Sen or likes! I am glad that I didn’t go for the movie. (I am sure if I would have kshitij would have killed me before the interval! :P)

    You said it right….Rani is looking silly. She is looking like an overweight bundle. I hated her look in the movie…weird hairstyle which is not suiting her and sad clothers which not at all flatter her figure. Why angels have to wear white, long flowy dresses only. Is this some rule or what! Why can’t Indian angles dress up like Nicole Kidman in Bewitched or Elizabeth Hurley in Bedazzled!

    That would have been a treat! What say? πŸ™‚

  28. 28 Poonam Sharma July 3, 2008 at 10:33 am

    @Ridhima: You have some really interesting observations: fake graphics and emotional kids movie. I will check out SEL movie site, thanks for the info!

    @Ashish: πŸ˜€ But how could a title have told me movie was bakwas??

    @Pr3rna: If you are taking kids along for TPTM, then you might still like it. πŸ™‚ Unlike Rani-Saif’s pair in earlier movies, there is not much romance here. I hope you get tickets for Jaane Tu,…

    @Harsharsrisri: he he..I guess cycle is fine. πŸ™‚ Yes, Saif is a good actor from past. I have not watched HP movie, but I know adults who are raving fans. πŸ™‚ And I loved Mogambo, an iconic villain!

    Thank you for putting me on your blogroll, I will soon be over to your site. πŸ™‚

    @Withering Willow: yes, you would have run a grave chance of getting killed by Kshitij for this movie! πŸ™‚

    Actually except for first few minutes, Rani is dressed in Nanny’s dress. Same dress for entire movie, Manish Malhotra designed that. So a Nanny’s dress is not really flattering. πŸ™‚ But I used to love Bewitched.

  29. 29 Rekha July 3, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    Yeah such a big lady on a small bike as angel is nt good at all. 😦

    Poonam: πŸ˜€

  30. 30 Quirky Indian July 4, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    KK is definitely one of the most overrated directors in the business. All his four films have proved it.

    Cheers,
    Quirky Indian

    Poonam: I can only remember three of his films: MDK, Hum Tum and Fanaa. Which is fourth one that I missed? TPTM? Have you watched it?

  31. 31 Mahak July 16, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    THANKS A ton for writing about the bad casting of the movie //overweight and visibly aged Rani Mukherjee. Plus angel does not look refined, angel speaks mixture of Punjabi and Hindi! //

    Rai Mukherjee is the worst actor casted in the movie….she doesn’t look like an angel from any angle πŸ˜€ …I could have digested Preity Zinta but Rani is a big no no with that disgusting punjabi accent……..the movie gives no message to the kids….And amisha was purely wasted… the sensous song is good as a stand alone number but the director didn’t do full justice to the screennig and added confusing bits and pieces…..In all A BAD MOVIE—typical Yash Raj churn out……One word- Kunal go back to your Fanaa self!! PLS

  32. 32 Mahak July 16, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    And am adding you to my roll..i need good reviews specially….as sitting so far from India I don’t know what to watch and what not!!!

  33. 33 Poonam Sharma July 16, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    @Mahak: Don’t let any mothers listen to your disappoinment with the movie. πŸ˜€ They loved it because kids loved it. I write reviews less often, usually I think against the tide on the blogosphere. So if someone writes good review for a bad movie, I write about and vice versa. I hope my reviews help you.

    Where are you located? US and UK? I remember your consumer rights post (I remember your DP though blog was different.) but do not remember your location.

    Thanks for blogrolling me! πŸ™‚

  34. 34 pyaolyangshen October 5, 2009 at 3:35 am

    most desi movies have a level of corniness… I think it is an understood theme. Aamir khan’s more recent movies tend to be realistic. I look forward to this christmas release of 3 idiots.

  35. 35 black-jack January 24, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    your so stupid you know that and so is ur article and you know what you jackass if rani was fat you wouldn’t stay alive right now cuz she must of read the review and after reading it she will come to you and bear you under the ground.and guess what I know about your little fat secret and it will be published whenever i want and i will make look like the rubish. and rani isn t fat at all you big fat liar aned also the movie was a comedien kids movie and that bike was perfect for that kind of movies so if you don not like it then u stick ur ass to the wall . and to who didn’t watch the movie you got mocked of.and believe me the movie was magnificant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  36. 37 cool_guy January 24, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    yaaah.rani isn’t fat and the writer of this review is a jackass

  37. 38 debra January 24, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    yes.I liked the movie and I do not have any kids actually I’m 16 years old.and i liked it cuz it was funny and I have sense of humeur unlike the writer of this review that dummy.

  38. 39 akanksha kulkarni February 17, 2010 at 10:58 am

    seriously rani does not match with her role


  1. 1 Cinema Saturday Challenge - Mary Poppins « Paper Craft Planet Blog Trackback on May 4, 2009 at 9:53 am

Leave a comment




Subscribe to Visceral Observations

     
Add to Technorati Favorites

Thank you, Chirag!

This header has been created by Chirag.

A Torch Against Terrorists

     

I also write at:

Blog Archives

Read by Category

World AIDS Day 2008

Support World AIDS Day
The Hunger Site
Creative Commons License
Visceral Observations is written by Poonam Sharma. It is licensed to her under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License
Directory of General Blogs
July 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031