Updates, Tag and General News

First the good news, I have written about DU distance learning students’ plight at their courses not being recognised. IGNOU has now given a green signal for DU distance learning courses. Hurray! 🙂

I had written this post at request of Deepak, who wasn’t receiving his appointment letter from Staff Selection Commission (SSC) even though he was selected. So, thankfully, Deepak will receive his appointment letter shortly.

All winners of Cricket-opedia Contest by Virgin IHL have received their gifts. However, I could confirm it with all winners except one, Sandil Srinivasan. Sandil, could you please let me know if you got your goody bag?

Now come the dedications and thank yous.

The first one is to Ava, she awarded me a International Bloggers Award, which I didn’t know about until I checked incoming links.  Second, she loved the book I gifted her and also wrote about the book on her blog.

Ok, I admit I am gushing with pleasure. I gift books to everyone I meet and know. Even me smaller cousins know I would get then a new book each time. But when I know someone loved them and appreciated them as I thought they would. It’s like feeling dhanya, it feels like heaven. Thank you, Ava for making my day.

Second is Indyeah, who wrote this beautiful post about Delhi, dedicating to me. Though I twittered it, I never acknowledged it on my blog. Thank you, girl. 🙂

I must also thank Arpit, who is now embarking on a new life. Often he is the one who reminds me to write a new post. And I DO write at his behest.

News about Fellow Bloggers

You must already know that  Chirag who now blogs here has started a new initiative called Indiameme. He has a new initiative where he’s collating information about all national and local government sites. Please help him and suggest the worthy resources in the comments section.

Similarly, Dinsan, who used to the first commentator on all my posts is now also a freelancer. He is churning out useful posts as this. Go visit his non-cluttered blog and find simple tech news there.

Nimmy is also back and has written interesting posts on astrology and Scientology.

On the Sad News front, three minor bad things have happened in my blogging life in past few months.

First: Two of the bloggers, some valued friends, lied about a small issue. Though to their credit, they regretted it, their regret was also genuine since they are good people. But it made me wonder about things like privacy and trust within online friends.

I have defined my blogging boundaries. I write personal stuff; but nothing too personal, nothing that I wouldn’t be open about in real life.  I decide which bloggers I will meet, and how far I will go with each. It is not a decision for anyone else to take if this info should be shared with other blogger, or how I should deal with other blogger, or how close (if I am) to other blogger.

What makes worse, people have different definition of honesty as well. What you know was lie and dishonest may not be to others. Lesson learnt is that , blogging is soon becoming a community where people happily whisper secrets to other saying ‘Don’t tell anyone’. And a chain of passing info goes on 😦  So if there’s something you want to keep to yourself, don’t ACTUALLY tell anyone.  Because the one you are putting in trust maybe as gullible and human as you.

Second, a blogger who disagreed with my DevD review actually abused me. You know who you are and you have been barred from having your further say on my space. It’s alright to call my opinions foolish or provoking ; but to call me names and abuse me for my opinion is UNACCEPTABLE. Period.

I remember having a great conversation with Quirky Indian on the same post. We disagreed but despite that, it was a great conversation.

Third, another blogger who I considered a great friend took umbrage at my innocent quip. If I disagree with you, I certainly don’t intend to put you down. I am just expressing my opinion. Feel free to rip apart what I say. But dismissing my disagreement by doubting my intention is not fair. Not fair to the medium of blogging and commenting; not fair to friendships.

But for every such blogger, I am grateful and proud to know bloggers like Anshul and Vee.

Anshul and me disagree on most things because things we agree are very far and few. He didn’t even agree with me that Salim Ali’s book was a good choice for ornithology. Ok, this was a dig at him. But see, he won’t think that I am putting him down. He will launch his own efforts to prove me wrong instead, knowing this won’t thwart our friendship at all.  (Second dig successfully taken. :P)

Then there is Vee, I remember having a disagreement about movie Gulal. I hated a particular character; whom he loved. Though he won’t budge in his opinion (he wrote in comments that he will write his side in his review, and he did), he did tell me “tumne to solid reason diya hai” as in you have given me a solid argument.

Thank you both, you guys make me believe that freedom to expression of speech will never come in way of our friendship. And you my reader, I assure you these experiences are not going to take out any sting from my future debates and arguments. I am just going to be me as always, but just a bit wary. 😀

Last but not the least, I meet families of two other wonderful bloggers Mahendra, who is a staff writer at Makeuseof.com and Meetu, who is owner of wonderful movie review site, WOGMA. When I told a friend about my visit, he said, “They were good to you.” Yes, very much. Thank you, Mahendra and Meetu, glad to know people like you in a new city.

38 Responses to “Updates, Tag and General News”


  1. 1 dinu September 17, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    first comment again !!

    thanks for the link .. reading the rest now 🙂

  2. 5 Quirky Indian September 17, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    I remember that discussion we had. Glad you enjoyed it too. 🙂

    It is always fun to learn of other points of view. That’s the whole point of blogging….

    Cheers,

    Quirky Indian

  3. 7 Mahendra September 17, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Nice to see you back on your blog! 🙂

    It’s good you’re writing about both the positive and negative experiences in the blog world.

    I met and know Chirag on FriendFeed. Didn’t know you were connected.

    Also, I’m already following Dinsan on Twitter. Small world.

    • 8 Poonam Sharma September 21, 2009 at 3:24 pm

      Chirag I know since Avante Garde Bloggies Awards, he designed the badges for me. He has also designed this present header. 🙂

      My blogroll has quite a common circle, almost everyone is connected to other. 🙂

      Yes, blogging has had several pleasurable moments for me, this is first time something that can be termed bitter happened.

      About meeting, glad to know the feeling is mutual. 🙂

  4. 9 Mahendra September 17, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    Oh and thank you for the kind words. As I’ve said, it was our pleasure to meet you!

  5. 10 Vimmuuu September 17, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    OMG, I just went through the comments of that Dev D review of yours ! Some people, I tell you !!! doesnt even have the courage to come out with their original name !!

    and Im glad you wrote positive stuffs about Vee !! Varnaaa….. 😀 😀 😀

  6. 13 xylene September 17, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Just ignore those comments 🙂

  7. 15 Ava September 17, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    Poonam, I cant thank you enough for Possession. It was such a feast of a book. Of course, meeting you was much better than any book you could have given me.

    I agree with you, amongst my blogger/online friends, Vee is the best. He is so upfront about everything, and so non judgemental that it is a pleasure to talk to him.

    • 16 Poonam October 5, 2009 at 10:45 am

      Ava, your comment again pleases me. I hope we can meet again soon.

      And I agree what you say about Vee but he has become too busy these days. 😉

  8. 17 Vee September 17, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Dhinchaak!!!! Haan Haan Yaad Hai… 🙂

    It’s been so long that we spoke/fought.. Miss those days of arguments…

  9. 18 Nimmy September 17, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    🙂 thanks for including me in your dear-list Poonam 🙂

    Your header is sweet.. I guess its you and your sister ..

  10. 20 Solilo September 17, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    “I have defined my blogging boundaries. I write personal stuff; but nothing too personal, nothing that I wouldn’t be open about in real life. I decide which bloggers I will meet, and how far I will go with each. It is not a decision for anyone else to take if this info should be shared with other blogger, or how I should deal with other blogger, or how close (if I am) to other blogger.”

    Poonam, I concur with every line there.

    Congratulations on the award! will keep meeting you on tweets as always. 🙂

  11. 21 Smita September 18, 2009 at 9:29 am

    Hmmm u r absolutely right about blogging & boundaries.

    In fact I feel that when we share personal info with frenz that we have made virtually we have to be extra careful because we seriously don’t know how seriously the saaamne wala takes our friendship, nahin???

    Enough of serious stuff, when are we meeting and can I tell you which book I want?? 😀 😀 😀

  12. 22 B K CHOWLA September 18, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Blogging is all about opinions.We may or may not agree with one’s views but sure one must define one’s boundaries.

  13. 24 Nova September 18, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Good to find you blogging again. Hmmmm.. your blog suggests some uncomfortable experiences.. hopefully u will get over them soon and see the bright side of blogging 🙂

  14. 26 Indian Homemaker September 18, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    So if there’s something you want to keep to yourself, don’t ACTUALLY tell anyone. Because the one you are putting in trust maybe as gullible and human as you. I agree with this Poonam.

    And a blogger abusing you because he did not agree with you is unacceptable. I also agree about setting our own blogging boundaries… I have done the same.

  15. 27 prerna September 18, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    I agree with IHM, no blogger has the right to abuse you because he disagrees with you.

  16. 29 Hypermom September 18, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    Good to see you back! I miss ur regular posts now that u have become busier!

    I am angry about ur bad experiences-but don’t let the bad experiences put you off making new friends!

  17. 31 aniruddha pathak September 19, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    I’m glad that you still trust people 🙂

  18. 32 Arpit September 27, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    😛 😛
    thats what i just have right now! and i will continue giving you reminders to write new post because i enjoy reading your blog! 😛
    even if i dont drop in comments but i make sure to visit your blog at least twice a week!so continue blogging! 😛 😛
    and congrats for all the awards !

  19. 33 praneshachar September 27, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    wonderful that is the power of media and it is commendable it has happened thro your writing here.
    kudos to you poonam for the commitment for cause
    keep up the tempo

    • 34 Poonam October 5, 2009 at 11:19 am

      You are very kind, but I don’t think it happened due to my writing. Mainly, law took its course as some students too it to court. 🙂

      Thanks for the positive words. 🙂

  20. 37 Kiran October 13, 2009 at 9:10 am

    Poonam!!!!!! You are an amazing blogger, friend and enthusiast!

  21. 38 Kiran October 13, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Oh yeah! Congrats on the award 😀


Leave a comment




Subscribe to Visceral Observations

     
Add to Technorati Favorites

Thank you, Chirag!

This header has been created by Chirag.

A Torch Against Terrorists

     

I also write at:

Blog Archives

Read by Category

World AIDS Day 2008

Support World AIDS Day
The Hunger Site
Creative Commons License
Visceral Observations is written by Poonam Sharma. It is licensed to her under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License
Directory of General Blogs
September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930