Of Blogging Awards, Friends and Links

Before I begin a link diary for this month, I must thank Reema for awarding me Best Blogger award. She awarded whole lot of bloggers aptly: most beautiful blog, artistic blogger, serious blogger and so on. It opened window to more bloggers. πŸ™‚

So, if you want to go ahead and create other award for fellow bloggers: click here to create blog awards. However, this one did not have a generous blogger award that I wanted to give Reema, I would instead give her a high-five of my friendship. πŸ™‚ See right! πŸ™‚

Just as we use MyLiveSignature for generating personal signatures for our blog posts and emails (I use a signature for all my meme posts. :P), we can use this superstickies site to generate colourful post-its. Like one I have used here: (I have used one post-it in my last Olympics post too.)

I recently signed up for Evernote, a useful notemaking tool that can capture anything on your desktop and Web, and save it for you. It makes even the text in your saved images searchable. πŸ™‚ It is only my laziness to login that prevents me from making good use of it. 😦 You can use a plugin in your browser for ease. There are many other notemaking tools available (like Google Notebook), if there is a good one that you use, do let me know in the comments section.

I came across two unusual education games that handle social issues. One is Darfur is Dying that gives you a glimpse of life in war-ravaged areas of Sudan. I played the games with anticipation, I don’t want to think how it must be in real-life situation. You can take some actions listed to help people in Darfur in real-life.

Other is Laadli, an online game about the sex identification and foeticide. I have read few reviews about Laadli that it is not very user-friendly game. Though, Zapak has received an award for creating it. I invite your views about playing this game.

P.S: I have to tell you this, readers! About time

Sometime back I wrote about MediaMax/Linkup being frauds, I wrote how they had taken my data as hostage to make me pay up. I wrote to TechCrunch, WebWorkerDaily, Amit Agarwal (of Digital Inspiration) and other biggie blogs who had (or had not) recommended it at any point of time. Most of them publish with a link to my post. I want to thank all of them. Vinaya got it published in DesiPundit.

Some bloggers, who did not respond to me, did update their posts by deleting MediaMax from list of their recommended tools. Some of them wrote to me that they have added notes about MediaMax although it is not their policy to revisit and edit old posts. Tom Basset commented in this blog about publishing a book with experiences of MediaMax/Linkup users.

While I was doing all this, several disgruntled MediaMax victims wrote in. And then it happened. Linkup aka MediaMax blogged that they were closing down. They did.

I am not saying that they closed downn because of our efforts. Most probably they planned it already. However, I like to think because of so many of us users writing against them, it would have been hard for them to survive. But I would like to thank each one of you readers and all other bloggers who campaigned indignantly against Mediamax/Linkup.

Best regards,

39 Responses to “Of Blogging Awards, Friends and Links”


  1. 1 Reema August 11, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    Awwww thanks!! πŸ˜€ I didnt think people will make whole posts on thanking me after I awarded them! πŸ™‚

    I was sad to play that Darfur Game. Why isnt UN doing something about it? As for the other one, it plays only on IE and i use FF. So will check it out later.

  2. 2 vimal August 11, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    grrrr8888 (the way Tony the tiger puts it in Kelloggs Frosties!)…..happy for u and even happier for the present state of Mediamax…

    yet to check the links, will comment again once i do that !

  3. 3 Xylene August 11, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    mediamax closed down? So link up is also down? so what about the people who paid for the service?

  4. 4 Smita August 11, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    One post and so much info πŸ™‚

    I always wondered where do we get the links and pics for those awards and here you have given it πŸ™‚

    Post Its and signatures too are darn useful πŸ™‚ and you were absolutely right about Reema’a effort πŸ™‚

    BTW I tried the game and I agree with you. It has its heart at the right place but isn’t very user friendly.

    I had difficulty in bursting those balloons and when I failed thrice & got my points deducted I got frustrated and left it…..

  5. 5 arvind August 11, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    first time i am hearing about mediamax 😦
    that was..
    u have shared too many links ..i could open just 2 πŸ˜€
    amit’s site and that darfur game.
    pretty bad .. i was quite sad too as reema said 😦

  6. 6 Liju Philip August 12, 2008 at 6:00 am

    Kongrats. Aap to award pe awaard jeet rahe ho. Hamku party hona. πŸ˜€

  7. 7 Withering Willow August 12, 2008 at 11:18 am

    nice post… i like such posts which are . πŸ˜›
    This superstickie looks very neat. Thanks for the link!

    Will check out the games soon and send you my feedback.

    Write more often! πŸ˜€

  8. 8 praneshachar August 12, 2008 at 11:46 am

    gr8 congrats for the award and kudos for the post. a big HIGH FIVE TO YOU TOO
    I liked the post and I dont have words to express. great simply great superb………….. so on ….
    have a good day

  9. 9 dinu August 12, 2008 at 11:48 am

    I was looking for the superstickies site.. when I saw that … on your last post

  10. 10 Poonam Sharma August 12, 2008 at 11:59 am

    @Reema: You deserve more high fives. πŸ™‚ Yes, I felt sad too playing Darfur game. I could not play Laadli as I too use FF and it IE 7 that I have is not compatible with this game.

    @Vimal: Thankkkk youuuu! COme back when you have seen the links. πŸ™‚

    @Xylene: There were cheats. They didnt even save data for who paid as per people commenting in my that post.

    @Smita: Now you know how to create some fun awards! πŸ™‚ There is little I can do to match Reema’s effort, that is why I did not give her any other award that would make it seem like barter. πŸ™‚

    I have not been able to play Laadli, but it was review I got. Such games that have a cause should be simple and user-friendly like the Darfur game.

    @Arvind: All the links in Mediamax section are those that wrote about it. If you have read one, you know it all. You can then open other links and enjoy. πŸ™‚

    @Liju: Thanks! Its like getting critics award but the mainstream award (that is blog hits) go to you consistently! πŸ™‚

    @Willow: yeah, do check out Laadli. I want feedback on it.

    @Praneshachar: High five to you too! πŸ™‚ You too have a great day! πŸ™‚

    @Dinu: πŸ˜€ now you have it..

  11. 11 Sakhi August 12, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    I am tempted to check each and every site you linked here but will have to wait till i reach home! πŸ™‚ am super excited to check them out!

  12. 12 Mahak August 12, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    Cool share of URLs..thanks a ton..I am always looking for such sites…yaay to you!

  13. 13 sulz August 12, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    thank you too. πŸ™‚ wishing you more blog happy days!

  14. 14 vimal August 12, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    for the blog awards, i have left a comment already.

    Thanks a lot for the signature links,jus included one.check it out and lemme know.

    Played the Dafur game for sometime, tried Deng for the water forage stage. I have to get back to that. I liked the Laadli game more, some of the questions are shocking !

    again, wonderful links, blogmate πŸ™‚

  15. 15 Tom Bassett August 13, 2008 at 12:30 am

    Wow, a lot of info in this post. Congrats on the award!

    A shame Mediamax/Streamload/Linkup shut down – probably all our files = gone forever. Some from MM have said that Nirvanix still has them, but Nirvanix is playing games & denying everything. I guess all hope is lost.

    Keep up the good work! I am sure there is no shortage of cheats and offenders to expose on the web!

  16. 16 Manoj August 13, 2008 at 8:47 am

    hey lemme try those games..good info..and interesting tools. πŸ™‚
    and I have not heard of mediamax..am just about a novice in blogging πŸ™‚

  17. 17 Manoj August 13, 2008 at 8:47 am

    btw thanks for dropping in to my blog. I have blogrolled you πŸ™‚

  18. 18 Poonam Sharma August 13, 2008 at 10:20 am

    @Sakhi, Mahak: Do let me know, after you have checked links out, what you think of them. πŸ™‚

    @sulz: πŸ™‚ I wish you same, more blog happy days!

    @Vimal: I thought you were saying that you have selected a signature for your blog. I checked there was not.

    Thanks for the sweet award, will combine all award in another post. πŸ™‚

    I did manage to make breakthrough in Darfur game but I could not play Laadli due to browser problem.

    @Tom Bassett: Welcome back! πŸ™‚ You put a smile on my face.

    Yes, files are gone forever. No doubt about that. Thank God I did not put any precious stuff there, I was using it as library for white papers and similar resources. I have some on my hard disc and others I don’t remember what I had.

    Next time I come across a cheat on Web, I will surely write. You too, keep up your initiatives. Keep visiting!

    @Manoj: Thanks for blogrolling me! Do let me know what you think of games after you check them out.

  19. 19 Nikhil August 13, 2008 at 11:59 am

    Sweet post! I have to thank Reema too, for awarding me the Mr Funny Blogger award! πŸ˜€
    The superstickies is a great idea! Thanks for that! πŸ˜€

  20. 20 vimal August 13, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    Didnt you see the new signature at the bottom (left side) which says “vimmuuu” in blue color ? Strange !!!!

    and you dont have to thank me at all for the award. Your blog deserves it any time!

    Btw, does my email id flash at your end with each comment ?

  21. 21 Ruhi August 13, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Congrats on the award Poonam! πŸ™‚ How have you been? I have used Evernote before and it’s good. You can try Google Notebook. My personal favorite is Microsoft One Note though. There are lots of things that you can do with it. I have a review somewhere in my blog…

  22. 22 Arpit August 13, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    nice post! finally i am back with a bang……..:)…..and congrats for the award …withering willow got one too :)…..(but i didn’t get one 😦 ) .liked these superstickies!
    off topic : finally i posted a new article….hope you will like it!:)

  23. 23 Nupur August 15, 2008 at 1:58 am

    Hi Poonam,

    Thanks for the superstickies link.. It is really nice

    Nupur

  24. 24 Amit August 17, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Congrats for the award. πŸ˜€
    Its a great achievement that your post was able to start a chain of events which actually lead to an action in case of Mediamax/Streamload/Linkup.
    And that “stick-it” kind of thing is very cute. Thanks for the link. πŸ™‚

  25. 25 Asif August 17, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    I would Recommended One Note from Microsoft Office.
    Its too good to get images as screenshots, even a portion of your Screen.
    and you don’t require a login, all you need to do is to Press (Window Button+S)
    πŸ™‚
    BTW, the Sticky note thing is good, i’ll try it, thanks anyways!!

  26. 26 Planet Scuba August 17, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Hey there! πŸ™‚
    Planet Scuba has reached India! India’s first inland scuba diving training institute is opening in Bangalore!
    Check out our blog! πŸ™‚
    I’m sure you won’t be disappointed! πŸ™‚

  27. 27 Poonam Sharma August 18, 2008 at 9:41 am

    @Nikhil: Thanks for appreciation, Mr funny blogger

    @Vimal: I thought you were talking about signature using MyLive Signature, ones that are in cursive. I think you had this vimuu signature since long back. Yes, from my admin login I can see your email everytime, can’t you?

    @Ruhi: Well, well, who’s here? I am good, how have you been? I will wait for you to answer. πŸ™‚

    Yes, I remember reading your onenote review once. Are you back to blogging, I will have to check my reader.

    @Arpit: Yes, I read your article about Delhi. Don’t worry about the award, you will get one sooner or later. Keep on blogging! πŸ™‚

    @Nupur: You are welcome! )

    @Amit: Thanks, you got the Mr. Best blogger award too! Congrats! πŸ™‚ Yes, I may not have closed down MediaMax.Linkup, I did shame them which is something. πŸ™‚

    @Asif: This is second recommendation I have got for Onenote. Is it free? Doesn’t require login, that’s certainly cool. πŸ™‚ I will check it out.

    You are welcome for stick notes! πŸ™‚

  28. 28 vimal August 18, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    that signature is indeed from Livesignature and I placed it after this post of yours.

    Regarding the email, I dont see it. Either its a limitation with blogspot or else im tooooooo ignorant !!

    Poonam: I can see your signature now. πŸ™‚ If you don’t see my email even in today’s comment that I think blogger has a limitation.

  29. 29 rambodoc August 19, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    That was one informative post, and you have talked of things I was not even aware of. Your blog (I think this is my first time here) is very interesting indeed, so I have subscribed to it.

  30. 30 vimal August 21, 2008 at 1:38 am

    where are you, blogmate? this is a long break !!! My GK level is coming down !!! πŸ˜€

  31. 31 RJ August 21, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    @Poo – Information@poonam.com

    Is it coming up yet? πŸ˜€

  32. 32 Vaibhav August 22, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    As long as we are talking about awards, I decided to give you an award as well. You have been awarded the Brilliant Weblog award.Well done:

    http://blog.gadodia.net/an-award-yay/

    Come and claim it πŸ™‚

  33. 33 Roop Rai August 22, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    hey good stuff!! first time here … blogrollin ya.

  34. 34 Poonam Sharma August 23, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    @rambodoc: Yes, you have been here before. Last year. See your comment here: https://alchemistpoonam.wordpress.com/2007/08/12/a-slice-of-reservation-pie/

    I am glad you think of this blog worthy of subscribing. πŸ™‚

    @Vimal: Blogmate, I am very tired these days. So much to write about. At work, there is firewall and at home, I have slow wireless connection. I will try to write something this weekend though.

    @Vaibhav: Thanks for the award! I hope I live upto it in future. πŸ™‚

    @Roop: Welcome to Visceral Observations! I am glad you liked it, I will soon be over your blog. πŸ™‚

  35. 35 rambodoc August 23, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    Yes, I see that I had been here. Thanks, and hope to keep reading!

  36. 36 Manoj August 27, 2008 at 8:47 am

    oops! An other blogger missing!! U there? πŸ™‚

  37. 37 roy August 27, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    How would you deal with such human parasites?

    In our circle we have dialogue β€œDosti pakka lekin kharcha aapna aapna.”

    Next time, you take all those cool-looking debit-credit cards & before going to buy anything, say, β€œOh my God, I forget to load cash in my wallet today! Hey sam, today it’s your turn”

    Let she her face & response. If she excuses, remember — world is full of people who are not parasite – find them.

  38. 38 Poonam Sharma September 2, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    @Manoj: I am trying to be back soon. πŸ˜›

    @Roy: Before I could pull that trick ever, she would pull it on me. 😦 Well, we have severed all ties with each other. So good riddance. πŸ™‚


  1. 1 Blog Friendship: The Next Level « bloggerdygook Trackback on August 13, 2008 at 5:37 pm

Leave a comment




Subscribe to Visceral Observations

     
Add to Technorati Favorites

Thank you, Chirag!

This header has been created by Chirag.

A Torch Against Terrorists

     

I also write at:

Blog Archives

Read by Category

World AIDS Day 2008

Support World AIDS Day
The Hunger Site
Creative Commons License
Visceral Observations is written by Poonam Sharma. It is licensed to her under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License
Directory of General Blogs
August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031