Movie Review: Slumdog Millionaire and Luck By Chance

Slumdog Millionaire has hogged too much of media headlights. There was a debate about west lapping up India’s slums and how the movie was so sentiment-evoking. I am disappointed on both the counts. Our own Indian movies have shown poverty/child prostitution/people on fringes in much more evocative manner: Do Bigha Zameen, Traffic Signal, Kalyug, Chandni Bar, Summer of 2007. And a substantial part of movie Slumdog Millionaire is similar to Traffic Signal. Though, latter takes it on a deeper level. Wait, I am not accusing Slumdog Millionaire of plagiarism. All I am saying that this movie that has been immensely moving to West, has been seen by us Indians several times before.

I have not read Vikas Swarup’s Q and A, but whatever things his story has weaved in: we have read often in magazines, watched in our movies, heard in news. It has every single thing we know: police mutely watching in case of communal riots, guides of Agra, begging business, child prostitution and last but the least our call centres. The entire story ahs been weaved in the background of Who wants to be millionaire?, which could be easily be replaced to winning a lottery to show a rags-to-riches story.

I am one person who cries a lot while watching movies. But there were few tears I could muster while watching Slumdog Millionaire. It’s a sad thing we are getting used to grimness around. However, to be fair to Danny Boyle, I do not think he has set out to exploit India’s slums. Though there is an opening sequence, where policeman chases slum kids, camera pans to show us glimpse-of-dirtiest-possible-place on the earth, something our movies have shied away even when capturing penury. But you can fairly say, story ki demand thi. 😛

Good things: Performances and cinematography. The young Jamal, Salim (especially Salim) and Latika played by slum kids were wonderful. Dev Patel is endearing. Anil was good as catty host. But disappointment Frieda Pinto, there wasn’t much for her to do, you see.

My rating: 3/5 (Edited to make it 3, but don’t rush up hard to catch it, you maybe disappointed.)

Luck by Chance

I will not say that Luck by Chance does not have any clichés. You will have known several parts of it. Yet you will enjoy. I had a good time watching it.

:spoiler: When the movie ends, there is a sense of déjà vu. As if you have seen this before. This déjà vu is also to do with Konkana Sen Sharma. You have seen her walk off with her independence before.  I had another déjà vu, while watching the movie, and it is personal. Farhan Akhtar’ s forgiveness speech. Well, it’s inspired from real life. Ismein unki koi galti nahi, kuch log aise hi selfish hot hai. LOL 😛 :spoiler ends:

Hmm, back to movie, it’s the movie of two struggling actors, dreaming to make big. One makes it through sheer wit and bit of luck. Other one has to be content with bits and crumbs of piecemeal roles. This movie is story of relationships, friendships that see ups and down in a city, where life changes overnight. Zero becomes hero and hero becomes zero. It is story of an aged, ace producer (Rishi Kapoor) who is trying to survive the new age of cinema, with younger generation. Casting couch and exploitation have been subtly, sufficiently hinted and done away with.

Farhan looks incredibly handsome and fits well into his character’s shoes. He is not flawless yet. Dialogue delivery still needs to be perfected. (I will reiterate the flawed dialogues to anyone interested.) Konkana is ok as usual and only she could carry off her character with so much fat. 😛 Isha Shravani looks her part: delectable and silly. I love Gopuchi. 😛 Rishi Kapoor, in his roly-poly wig, is nice too. And I can’t sign off without writing about Hrithik. He has a special role. He is character is good at heart, insecure and wants to make it bigger. He was neither lead of the movie, nor a villain. His character is plain intriguing.

Music? Ahem what can I say. Ask Vimal. 😛 Though I must mention I like Shankar, Ehsaan and Loy. There is a song with circus-like choreography. It looks silly, but was enjoyable enough to remain in my memory.

Other thing is that movie has many fitting cameos: SRK, KJ, Anurag Kashyap, Aamir, Raj Kumar Hirani and many more. Go watch the movie! It’s fun. Zoya Akhtar has made a debut that is worth a watch.

My rating: 3.5/5

P.S: I know now, after watching the movie, no matter what people say, everyone reads gossip magazines. Its really a BIG business. 😛

36 Responses to “Movie Review: Slumdog Millionaire and Luck By Chance”


  1. 1 Anshul February 3, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Even I found this movie to be OK. I didn’t find the scenes from the slums hard hitting or moving or hard to digest, may be because – like you said – we are used to seeing this in reality, or may be because I was too busy hogging hot dogs during the movie and so on.

    I would give Slumdog 3/5, considering that I was able to sit through the whole movie and didn’t get bored. Movies with 2.5/5 are mostly not even watchable. 😀

  2. 2 Nimmy February 3, 2009 at 11:43 am

    I liked Slumdog..A different movie..Since i watched the movie before all controversies and debates,i could really enjoy the movie as it is without any prejudice or spoilers..I would give 4/5..

    Luck by Chance was just ok..Nothing new and interesting..At times,at was looking at the watch wondering why isn’t this ending..

    I wonder how can an actress ,in an aspiring actress role be so fat..Konkana is as fat as a pillow and there is no charm in her face..I have always liked here,but she looks bad in this movie..

    Farhan is also just ok..Nothing special to be noted..Yeah,of course he fits o the role,as a struggling actor-which he is.His acting is just avergae,his body is just average..Far better was the girl who is Dimple’s daughter( i don’t know her name)..She shows more expressions than Farhan..

    But the ending scene,where Konkana walks into new life-yup,that indeed great and the dialogues then are reallt touchy..Overall,i would just give 2/5 🙂

    (My comment on LBC) is the same all over blogosphere 😉 )

  3. 3 Poonam Sharma February 3, 2009 at 11:44 am

    Ok, 3 will may be more reasonable rating. My rating is biased due to my disappointment. I cud nt believe love story because of my cynicism and I was expecting too much because of awards. I do concede it to be 3 rating.

    @Nimmy: I agree movies are like to each, its own. I understand. 🙂

    I agree with your observations about actors in Luck by Chance. But I disagree that Konkana was a bad actress, though she could improve her appearance.

  4. 4 Solilo February 3, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    SDM definitely isn’t Academy material but having said that it is a good film. The criticism is unnecessary though to an extend it stemmed from the fact that had we send an Indian entry probably based on similar theme, it would have gotten rejected.

    Now to think of it would Water have won if it was Boyle and not Mehta. It made to top 5.

    I still say that it is a good film not great and Freida is the girl of the hour. Hope ARR wins Oscar..his dream.

    Farhan!*Wipes of drool* I hope to catch this film soon.

  5. 5 Chirag February 3, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    I like Slumdog Millionaire for the being a mix of arty kind and commercial, did you notice the song and dance in the end that was funny. I know too much press has been wasted on the movies but a good story,besides we would have like it even if an GOOD Indian director had made it. We all liked Dor, right.

    Luck by Chance abhi deki nahi, may be I’ll see hindi intna accha movies nahi banata 🙂

  6. 6 Poonam Sharma February 3, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    @Solilo, Chirag: Yes, I rated this movie less and was disappointed only because of hype. Its good but over rated.

    Yes, Jai Ho at end, looking at Dev Patel and Pinto, dancing was funny as well as good. I would have been disappointed even if an Indian had made it. My expectations, due to overwhelming praise, were HUGE. I ahd no expectation from Luck by Chnace, happy with it, though it ahd nothing new either. Now I wonder what was the brilliant, yet different movie I last watched?

  7. 7 Smita February 3, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Yet to watch both the movies but am more interested in Luck By Chance because I am already in love with it’s cast specially Farhan. As far as Slumdog is concerned I guess the hype it has generated is putting me off. Vaise am reading the book right now and though am finding it ok enough but I keep feeling that the author has been over indulgent….

    lol @ only she could carry off her character with so much fat. But yes u r right she needs to shed off…:-) but so do I, sigh!!!! 😉

  8. 8 Nimmy February 3, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    no no..Konkana is not a bad actress..I love her and hence i am sad that she is fat 🙂 She is a class actress who acts with ease,without any overacting.

  9. 9 Poonam February 3, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    @Smita: hype put me off from enjoying the movie to fullest. IT was ‘expectation failure’. Tell me how you find the book, that always interests me.

    @Smita, Nimmy: yes, I too was sad to see Konkana fat. The ‘chemistry’ was kinda affected. 😛

    @Smita: But you are fighting the fat successfully, I remember reading a post about it. 😉

  10. 10 Bina February 3, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    I agree wih the rating..I thought the book’s way better..but then, I always do:-)

    Good review! Cheers

  11. 11 Vikas Gupta February 3, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    Boyle had only noble intentions! It is a wonderful film and deserves only bouquets.

    I have to watch Traffic Signal and Do Bigha Jameen but I have vowed not to watch any film until I have completed my first book! Slumdog was my last movie this year.

    I am waiting for DEV D, just the same! I want this film to succeed because Abhay is a wonderful Deol! I am told his Oye Lucky… was a great film that was submerged in the Mumbai aftermath.

    By the way, Luck by Chance is a good name; we find refreshing Bollywood names now. When I was a kid I was stirred by names like ‘Jaan Hatheli Pe’, ‘Loha’, ‘Diljale’ and whatnot! I have evolved suitably, thank heavens!

  12. 12 Oxy February 3, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Oye, so you have issues with SM, Hmm, sabka apna apna nazariya. You started with the line that there was a debate on two accounts. Dear, it became a debate cuz few biggies passed a comment. And when biggies pass a comment it becomes a debate; how much ever silly that remark might be. It’s just a movie and should be treated just like that. It’s wrong to say we have some gems that showcased those things much better. Well, you said in the context of the comments (debate) so I wont hold you responsible. 🙂

    I loved LBC too and have my review written after watching it first day first show. I am waiting for the permission to get it posted on my blog.

  13. 13 Poonam Sharma February 3, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    @Bina: Glad that you agree, but I would have been happy even if you disagreed, for I understand everyone has different sensibilities. So you always like the book better. 🙂

    @Vikas Gupta: I haven’t given any brickbats to SM, except only that it is overrated. If you ahve watched Traffic Signal, the basic premise of slum children, begging, prostitution would not come as surprise to you.

    I too am waiting for Dev D. BTw, is there really a movie called ‘Jaan Hatheli Pe’?

    @Oxy: I dont have any issues with SM, except it is overhyped. Reading review after review and then Globe awards and then Oscar nomination raised the graph of my expectations. Movie disappointed me on that count. Don’t pay any attention to biggies. I certainly haven’t. In my link diary post I have mentioned how a fellow blogger has mused if this movie takes advantage of our slums? I thought debate was unnecessary, we have made more graphic movies on penury and exploitation. Have you watched Traffic Signal? It takes on begging industry on more deeper, also at political level. Madhur Bhandarkar movies have been more hard-hitting for me. SM was enjoyable to me as a viewpoint of a westerner. Not even that, it was watchable (ok read good). Nothing remarkable. That’s all I mean.

  14. 14 Vikas Gupta February 3, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Yes, I agree you have not given any brickbats except only that it is overrated. I am yet to watch Traffic Signal. Even Nita vouched for it.

    Jaan Hatheli Pe is a film of yesteryear. Dharmendra’s action film!

  15. 15 Nikhil February 3, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    I’ve seen Slumdog, but not the second one… I thought the movie was quite good, and the acting was brilliant. Being a non-Bombay guy, I guess I find it a bit more impactful than bombay-ites might find it… right? 😀

  16. 16 Reema February 3, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    I think the hype and all that issue of showing India in bad light is just because a foreigner made the movie. If same things Madhur Bhandarkar showed it would be raved about.

    Liked LBC a lot! First good movie of year. CC2C was horrible.

  17. 17 Smita February 3, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    🙂 Oh! yes I am but I need to lose more, sigh!!!

    Through with the book, will be out with a review 2moro 🙂 but if i put in few words having read the book, my expectations from the movie is all time low 😀

  18. 18 Oxy February 3, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Yes I have seen Traffic Signal and I admire Madhur for making such a cinema. But at the end of day it’s just a cinema. If you mean that Madhur’s version was realistic than SM, then what reality we are talking of here? Before that what is the need to compare these two if their basic story line itself is poles apart. SM was about a Slum Boy going on to win the Million Rupees (and in the subtext; search of his lost love). Whereas Traffic Signal was bang on addressing the issues. SM is not about that. A part is that but not as whole. And now talking of Indian film-makers in general. What do you think would have happened to the script had it been offered to someone here. 6 Kids, 3 Teenagers are the protagonists. Who in our country in his/her right mind would have bothered to even go further to read the script?

    If Danny shows what he showed then does that mean all french people are polygamous, all americans are looking for a quickie and all israeli and iranians are darn emotional and sensitive people.

    Coming to being over hyped, yes it is. So? Isn’t SRK over-hyped beyond any imagination? We are saying Boyle showed this/that/ India is beyond that blah blah.. Arey.. if tomorrow someone wants to make a movie based in 1980s and doesn show some stuff of that era. Should we start screaming why the hell you showed that? Now come on, The movie clearly suggests that it started sometime in 88/89, so Mumbai was full of shitty slums then (and so is now). Big deal has been made of that.

    So, what if it won the GG and got nominated for Oscars. The fields in which it has been nominated are the ones which are BRILLIANT. The cinematography. ‘Adapted Screenplay’, now that takes some kind of creativity to adapt the story from a stinking book (Q & A; yes it stinks as two of my fren gave the review of it.) and make it worth a watch. Background Score in my limited knowledge of music was of top class. So, it’s getting nominated and winning for it being an excellent piece of cinema and hugely entertaining. So, people have absorbed it like never before. If you say it did not work for you cud of Hype only then I agree wholeheartedly and back out. But I see no reason for any mention of any other movie which was anywhere closely related to SM.

    P.S. The part of the reply was for you. I ranted so long cuz I am tired of making people understand it’s just a movie. Give it it’s due.

  19. 19 Solilo February 3, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    @Chirag: Dor was inspired from National Award winning Malayalam film ‘Perumazhakalam’. Kukkunoor didn’t acknowledge the fact before and in an interview claimed it to be his story or something then later gave credit. Nevertheless a good movie.

    @Poonam: You are tagged 🙂

  20. 20 Vikas Gupta February 3, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    @Solilo

    Thanks for updating me on Nagesh. I am saddened by the discovery. Nagesh is a good film maker; this was unbecoming of him.

    Teen Deewarein, a brilliant film from him, also had shades of ‘The Swashank Redemption’ in it!

  21. 21 Biju Mathews February 3, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    I wonder why no one classifies and appreciates the “love story” in Slumdog Millionaire. How many people will do what Jamal did in the movie? How many people will continue to love the girl of their dreams even if she becomes a slut? The whole camera revolved around their relationship while a second camera merely captured the dirt and the irony of the “real India.”

    I hope to make it for the “Lucky by Chance” this weekend. It’s been released in Kochi, Kerala where we sometimes consider ourselves “lucky by chance” with an all India release 🙂

  22. 22 amreekandesi February 3, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    I think the movie has got a bit too much attention, which would lead to disappointment for those who watch it now. Once the expectations are set that high, it is hard for a movie to meet them!

    I liked the movie very much, though even i was surprised by the number of awards it is getting from all over the place. I guess it is just the India connection that has made it so much more appealing to the western audiences. For us in India, we have seen it all, so it is nothing unusual for us, but i would say i found the movie’s portrayal of life in India rather commendable.

    I saw Richard Attenborough’s Gandhi a few days back, and was a little disappointed. I had seen the movie way back as a kid, and had heard so much about the movie and all the Oscars it won. Now that i know more about history and India, i didn’t think the movie did such a great job.

    I believe it is a similar phenomenon at work for Slumdog as well. I will not be surprised if it goes on to win half a dozen Oscars this year.

  23. 23 Dev February 4, 2009 at 3:07 am

    Luck by chance looks interesting. Thanks for the review, I will try to catch it somewhere.

  24. 24 Liju Philip February 4, 2009 at 6:35 am

    For me Slumdog was a 5/5. Yes, Danny Boyle concentrated exclusively on the dirty side of Bombay, but then lets face it. Its there and there is no running away from it. And also in defence of Danny Boyle, its not that a gora came and exploited the underbelly of Bombay. His movies always concentrate on the grimy side of whichever city his movies are shot it. Trainspotting, 28 days/weeks later etc.

    Havent seen Lucky by chance, but i would love to. Because its an insider take on the industry and also because it stars my favourite Koko 😉 The only actress besides Sonali Bendre and Tabu to ever capture my imagination 😀

  25. 25 Poonam Sharma February 4, 2009 at 10:11 am

    @Vikas: I never knew something liek that existed. 😀

    @Nikhil: I am non-Bombayite. I have not pulled down movie anywhere, but it was less on what I expected.

    @Reema: Nah! I am not concerned about a foreigner making it. Because I maintain it was not movie’s intention to show off slums/dirt. We had this debate that movie was very ‘moving’ and ‘voyeur of slums’, I was disappointed on both counts. We have already seen more courtsey Bhandarkar and also our media. As a story it is enjoyable watch, nothing to take away. BUt then as Oxy asserts, that was not the intention.

    @Oxy: Feel free to write as much you feel without any explanations. That’s what discussions are menat for.

    I have not at all accused SM of not being realist, in my review (barring my comments on your blog), I have not pointed out any flaws. I enjoyed Ghajini with million flaws. I have not pulled down SM anywhere.

    Debates I refered to were about two things: 1) did slumdog take advantage of india’s penury? 2) was sm a very moving movie? I am disappointed on both counts. The first question was ridiculous considering our own movies have shown more of slums, dirt and penury. Second, the premise of SM was love story and the rags-to-riches story. Thanks to hype, I guess I knew he will be millionaire and about love story..let’s just say I was not moved. Its just about feelings, connection you ahve with characters..I did not feel moved (maybe I thought it was too idealistic to be true in real world 😦 ). Movie was enjoyable while it lasted. That’s about it.

    Maybe if I had discovered the movie myself, not through so much of hype and ravings, I would have been content. Since Chak De (that I watched without any expectaion), I havent appluaded any SRK movie. I guess hype works against my enjoyment sometimes.

    @Solilo: It doesnt feel good to know directors like N. Kucknoor too plagiarise. I will do the tag, give me some time.

    @Biju Mathews: Your observation is bang on. I did not mention love story because cynic in me could not identify with it. What Jamal did in the movie will hardly be done by men, who would be thousand times better off than Jamal. Also, what Jamal did may not be enough in real world. 😦 As for dirt capture, that I mnetioned as my friend had put up his post:

    And this is new: aren’t all movies released all over India, are there different releases in different states?

    @amreekandesi: You are by far the closest person who could put fairly in words what I must be feeling. HAd I discovered the movie myself before hype caught on, it would have been a different ball game. But who knows, after redaing my post, someone may go to SM with zero expectation and come out enjoying. I know, I am an optimist. 🙂

    @Dev: Sure let me know what you think of Farhan :P.. as an actor. I alreday know your answer though.

    @Liju Philip: Uh, forget the slums in SM. I am not at all complaining about it. 🙂 I had hge expectations, and movie for few reasons did not live upt o them for me.To each his own. 🙂

    I too like your Koko, though she is not looking that good this time. But I like her portrayal as always. 🙂

  26. 26 amit February 4, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    Jitne log utne opinions! 🙂
    Well..err..I did not like Traffic signal at all. It is the only Hindi movie in which I ended up sleeping! 🙂 Maybe the seat was very comfortable.
    I liked SM. It has an engrossing story. I watched it with my family and everyone loved it.

    Regarding Luck by chance, I wanted to see it last Saturday. I know I would like it.

  27. 27 Poonam Sharma February 4, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    @Amit: :wearily: When have I said Traffic Signal is a suerior movie or SM is inferior? Just a disclaimer. You read Dev’s post about portrayal of slums, and stuff. Traffic Signal certainly had more of it. I watched it first time there and sheer information had great impact on me. About kids, ragpickers and beggars. SM is certainly not about it. It is a lovestory and a simple rags-to-riches story. I was unmoved by the the ‘love’ for cynic in me could not identify with it. I wish. I had read so many reviews about how people were affected, moved by the movie. It didn’t happen to me, partly because I was prepared and already knew about it. I don’t know. I am not a professional reviewer, I honestly record my feelings, reaction.

    Sure, Luck by Chance is enjoyable. To me, this weekend when I watched 2 movies (SM and this), it was this movie that brought some cheer in my life. 🙂

  28. 28 dinu February 4, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    hmm , I am no big fan of movies .. but I will have to go for this one coz she is insisting 😀

  29. 29 vimal February 5, 2009 at 1:41 am

    Havnt watched Luck by Chance yet; probably this weekend 🙂

    I’d written a loooong comment on Slumdog in Oxys blog and my comment got criticized as well. LOL. Nevertheless, thats what I thought about the movie and I stand by it.

    http://blessed-curse.blogspot.com/2009/01/review-of-slumdog-millionaire.html

    I know you have already been through his review, but check out the comments and the reply from both EISI and Oxy.

    Iam glad theres some blogger who shares my opinion on the movie. (Jodha Akbar, remember? LOL )

  30. 30 Poonam Sharma February 6, 2009 at 10:41 am

    @Dinu: Whenever she insists, you should comply. 🙂

    @Vimal: yesh, I read the comments and responses. I laughed. We are nto professional reviewers who need to present a balance view. We write our own reactions/feelings that can sometimes be best unexplained. I was underwhelmed when I watched teh movie. Its nothing to with a western director or any other accustation. I liked Ghajini with flaws. So I would not say I could not like SM because of flaws. I was expecting much , only to find I have seen more of sentiment in other movies.

    And it does remind me of Jodha-Akbar, whole of blogosphere was ga-ga about it. But we didnt like it. I guess hype works against us. State it as it is, we will be fine. SM was good movie, but nothing exceptional. Let’s stick to that. 😛

  31. 31 arvind February 6, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    I think slumdog millionaire was very good ..
    cinematography and screenplay was awesome thats what made the story different from the movies that that bollywood makes ..
    The story was not extra oridinary but the way it was presented was brillaint .
    I really dont see any movie for the reality they show ..
    it should be entertaining ..
    we already know what goes around in the society .. how u present is what matters for me ..
    of course thats my personal opinion ..
    I have not seen traffic signal but i would give surely a 4 star to slumdog ..
    and about luck by chance. i will be catching it soon 😛

  32. 32 Vikas Gupta February 7, 2009 at 9:42 am

    ADDENDUM TO MY COMMENTS>

    DeV D is a mind-blowing movie Poonam, so say the reviews!

  33. 33 Poonam Sharma February 9, 2009 at 11:01 am

    @Arvind: Hey, its all right to voice disagreements. Movie was fine wfor me, but overhyped. I guess hyped things are not for me, as they fail my expectations. And you are right, we watch movies for entertainment. If it has a message, great! BUt entertainment is the main reason. And I did not mean Traffic Signal is superior, only that this premise (of child begging/prostitution) has been touched upon in more details. I mentioned this in response to the hype of slum voyeurism in the movie. Our Indian movies have shown more of penury.

    I did not, and would not get into finding logical faults of the movie, for it is possible to like a movie despite that. I liked Ghajini despite its flaws. In this movie, I had hugher expectation, perhaps so my disappointment but that does not take away from SM that it is well made.

    @VIkas: Watched DevD! Should post a review soon! 🙂

  34. 34 vimal February 10, 2009 at 1:41 am

    Watched LBC at last. Didnt read your review cuz I wanted to come back here with my own opinion. After coming out of the hall, even I had this feeling that I’d heard the same story somewhere else, seen it before. But inspite of the hazaar cliches, the movie worked for me ‘cuz it was honest and unpretentious.

    Btw, though I share your opinion on Farhans acting, I would like to know about that flawed sequence. His performance in Rock On was more controlled and composed than in LBC.

    and I just noticed that ‘ask vimal’ too ! Thanks blogmate ! The music was just brilliant. My fav being Sapnon se bhare naina; beautifully picturised ! (I had a similar feeling when I went for my TV show audition 😀 ) and also Yeh Zindagi bhi, the song at the opening credits.

    Remember that dialogue when Konkana is reading Farhan’s letter: Sona tum so rahi thi, tumhe uthane ke man nahi kiya..something like that..it was as if he was reciting a poem.. 🙂 And while seeing him crying was bit awakward in the forgiving scene. I can’t put a finger on it, but it was not as nuanced as his last performance. You are asking me this nit too late, there were more dialogues he delivered as sing-sing. But he can escape with it for he is not as wooden as Aishwarya. 😛 I mention Aishwarya because just rceently I read reviews about her ‘wooden performance’ in Pink Panther. Half of reviews do not mention her, those that do like USA today bash her as well as every other aspect of that movie.

    Of course, I mentioned you for music, I like anything that soothes my ear. I remember sapno se bhare naina, also it was very significant there, with anticipation and Farhan’s sizing up his competitor..but for the life of me I can’t remeber the opening sequence. I will check it out again.

  35. 35 cinderalka February 25, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    I really loved the film Slumdog. I have a feeling that the diaspora somehow feels more compassion or sympathy for the film than Indians living in India. I was struck by how many questions the film invoked in me.

    My take on it: http://alkakothari.com/2009/02/24/what-kind-of-millionaire-are-you/

  36. 36 Joe Barry February 26, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    I must say that the movie is really different from others.The script was very intelligently connected with present life and past life.You will find very rare instances where such a mix of “story” and “real life” is done.I love every actors’ performances and also appreciated how the kids acted too naturally.My average rating would be 9/10.This movie has now become one of my evergreen favorites!


Leave a comment




Subscribe to Visceral Observations

     
Add to Technorati Favorites

Thank you, Chirag!

This header has been created by Chirag.

A Torch Against Terrorists

     

I also write at:

Blog Archives

Read by Category

World AIDS Day 2008

Support World AIDS Day
The Hunger Site
Creative Commons License
Visceral Observations is written by Poonam Sharma. It is licensed to her under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License
Directory of General Blogs
February 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728