The Sapling Project: Pune Chapter

This post is an endeavor to make you aware about a Pune initiative called The Sapling Project, which involves planting trees in Pune.


 The idea is to distribute the saplings and encourage participants to plant it at their locations such as at their house, society, institutions or any other place. Idea is to avoid planting it in some park or some common area because in such case participant won’t be able to go and take care of the saplings after they are planted. I know they are right, the white carnation tree I took to work dies on a weekend.)

If it is planted at your house/society, it would be possible to monitor the health and progress of planted saplings.
 
You can find more details about the Sapling Project in Pune on their site here. The Sapling Project is brainchild of two guys, Ranjeet (@ranjeet_walunj) and Satish (@bombaylives), whom I have had opportunity to meet at Bombay.

Please send it across to your friends and spread the word. If you are in Pune and  interested to participate as a volunteer,  please write directly to Libu. His contact details are:

Email: libu.baby@gmail.com
Mobile: 9881460654
Twitter: @libu
 
Hope to see your participation. Thanks! 🙂

P.S: Venues and timings for The Sapling Project in Pune:

Kalyani Nagar (Jogger’s Park): 7.30-8.15 a.m.
University Camp (Near Jogging Park): 8.45-9.15 a.m.
F.C Road (Near Vaishali, Roopali, near FC Road): 9.30-10.15 a.m.
Law College Road (Lane next to Barista): 10.30 a.m.

13 Responses to “The Sapling Project: Pune Chapter”


  1. 2 Nimmy June 2, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    I will be planting a new sapling this June 5th 🙂

  2. 3 Indian Homemaker June 3, 2010 at 6:02 am

    I agree Poonam. My mom remembers me whenever she sees blooms on the Gulmohar and Amaltas we planted outside my bedroom window when I was young… no idea what happened to the saplings we all planted in school, most died I am sure 😐

    I will spread the word and encourage others to plant saplings around where one can care for them.

  3. 4 Ashwin Baindur June 4, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    Great post! Nice initiative!

    We recently had a kid’s tree plantation drive in our College campus. We planted bushes with perfumed flowers around our lake mandir. You can read more about it here if you like :

    http://paintedstorknatureclub.wordpress.com/

    And being my typical acerbic self, I wrote about tree planting here :

    Crafting India’s Landscapes!

    Thanks for a thumbs up for a green activity.

  4. 5 scorpria June 5, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    I’m participating in the same…at Bangalore 🙂
    Venue: Lalbagh, Glass house.
    Time: 10:30 AM
    Contact: Joel Fernandes – 9008905774

    Let’s do our bit…and see it grow! 🙂

  5. 6 mina June 7, 2010 at 10:46 am

    when we were informed about the tree plantation in our office, i had suggested our HR that the company should purchase some saplings and distribute to the employees to plant around their houses. Probably if they knew about your project that plants were distributed free , they would have done so. But Plantation was done in our new factory premises.
    I have planted plants even in the little space i get out side my compound wall, hence I am glad to see the greenery at the patch which was previously filled with stones.

  6. 7 Umesh June 7, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    Hi Poonam…good work. But unfortunately i am out of Pune now but surely i will plant at least a shrub in my home in Delhi.

    Keep in touch. I will communicate our numbers to you as we get one. As of now, my old number is working.

    Cheerz and have fun…

    Umesh

  7. 8 MusEditions June 17, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    This was interesting to read. Does Pune need more greenery? As I haven’t been there yet, I don’t know. It does sound like a worthy project. I know that life and natural surroundings make life more pleasant for the people who live there.

  8. 9 Kiran June 18, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Love this initiative Poonam, thanks for highlighting the efforts. I would definitely spread the word around. Let’s make Mother Nature a beautiful and greener planet 🙂

  9. 10 Kashmira September 2, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Hey, I am from Pune (came here from Anouradha Bakshi’s blog).
    Am going to share a link to this on my FB, since I have a lot of friends from there. Hope you don’t mind!

    • 11 Poonam Sharma September 2, 2010 at 4:49 pm

      Hey, Kashmira, this is long since over. But you could keep in touch on Pune Saplings’ Web site to be in know of future dates when they take initiatives in Pune. Thanks for caring. 🙂

  10. 12 Knight Sticks E-Cig October 24, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    The sapling project is back with its 3rd edition, this time in more cities. The sapling project will be happening on 6th June 2010 in cities like Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Mumbai, Navi Mumbai, Pune Latur and Panvel.


  1. 1 The Sapling Project: Pune Chapter « Visceral Observations Map university Trackback on June 2, 2010 at 8:19 pm

Leave a comment




Subscribe to Visceral Observations

     
Add to Technorati Favorites

Thank you, Chirag!

This header has been created by Chirag.

A Torch Against Terrorists

     

I also write at:

Blog Archives

Read by Category

World AIDS Day 2008

Support World AIDS Day
The Hunger Site
Creative Commons License
Visceral Observations is written by Poonam Sharma. It is licensed to her under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License
Directory of General Blogs
June 2010
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930